Rising Frenzy by Brandon Witt, 2nd edition

o-rising-frenzyTitle: Rising Frenzy, 2nd edition
Series: Men of Myth, #2
Author: Brandon Witt
Genre: Paranormal/ Urban fantasy
Length: Novel (364 pages)
Publisher: DSP Publications (June 2nd 2015)
Heat Level: Explicit
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥ 5 Hearts

Blurb: Heartbroken, angry, and hurting, warlock Finn de Morisco feels darkness growing inside, altering every aspect of his life. There are moments when the man he used to be seems to have been devoured completely. Retreating from his family and everything he once held dear, Finn attempts to escape the despair left in the wake of Brett’s rejection—only to find dangers he never knew existed.

Still struggling with the decision to leave everything he knew behind, Brett Wright is swept into a maelstrom as he searches for his place within his newly discovered family. Life beneath the surface of the ocean should have been unlike anything he’s ever known, yet prejudice over his demon ancestry and homosexuality follows him. Even the existence he begins to build may not last as those he is learning to love face extinction.

ISBN: 9781632164469

Product Link: http://www.dsppublications.com/books/rising-frenzy-by-brandon-witt-90-b

Reviewer: Cat

Review: Rising Frenzy picks up where the Submerging Inferno ended so I do suggest you read this series in order. This book is sort of like getting three books in one. We get Finn’s side and also more on what’s going on with Brett, plus a bonus.

We begin with Finn after Brett left. Finn isn’t dealing well with the heartbreak. Finn searches for Brett at first, and then tries to get over him in some not so great attempts. Finn has a voice in his head that is pressuring him to be in the square, a seedy supernatural community and he gets involved in Spor, a sex drug, and meets Shwint a fairy.

There is a lot going on in Finn’s story, some highs and lows, its dark and sad. My heart broke for Finn. I will say there were times I wanted to shake him or just slap the crap out of him.

Brett’s story isn’t as sad as Finn’s, as Brett found his father and is trying life in the ocean with his newfound Mer family. This story dealt with acceptance, and Brett still dealing with all that is going on in his life, loss, what he is, his new life, and having to accept the rules of the tribe of Mers he has joined. There is lots of action in this part of the story and as in Finn’s story it’s emotionally deep, yet not as dark.

The third story was quite a surprise. I loved how the Author brought this character in with a story of its own. It’s briefer but quite intriguing. I will not tell you who it is you will have to buy the book and find out.

There were several new characters introduced, as well as some of the ones from the other book such as all of Finn’s family. All of the characters are so well done and intriguing. Some you will love, some you may hate.

There are also two new worlds in this book. You have the square; a dark, seedy supernatural community with drugs, sex, danger and all sorts of strange characters. I loved it, though it’s not for the faint of heart. There is also a peek at a fairy community that is so much fun with its lights, sounds, the food and drink; it also added a little light to balance out some of the darkness.

Then there is the underwater world. It is so intriguing. The entire journey is beautiful; the colors, the sea life. I felt like I was under there and a mermaid in the journey with Brett and his newfound family. I loved all of these new characters.

I cannot wait to see where the next book takes us and how these character’s lives may entwine once again or even if they do.
I highly recommend this if you like paranormal (vampires witches, werewolves, fairies), Fantasy (mermaids, demons, nymphs) New worlds, both supernatural and fantasy and underwater-worlds, dark, deep, emotional stories, and some fairly hot mansex.

If you’re looking for something new and different, but dark and deep this series is fantastic. It will make you angry at times and happy at others. I absolutely love everything about this series.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through http://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com *
Review Written for http://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com/