Counterfeit Conscience by Helena Maeve

helena-maeve-counterfeit-conscience-cover-sTitle: Counterfeit Conscience

Series:  Shadow Play 05

Author: Helena Maeve

Genre: Erotic Romance, Thrillers and Suspense

Length: Novella (94 pages)

Publisher: Pride Publishing (January 5, 2016)

Heat Level: Burning

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥ 3 Hearts

Blurb: On the brink of retirement, a spy will risk all.

The writing’s on the wall. Will Rowe has no illusions about retaining his post as the head of the largest Section field office in South America. Private contractors, some more lawful than others, already see to most of their interests. It’s only a matter of time before Will himself is made redundant. He’d like to think he’s made peace with the inevitable, but when a figure from his past offers one last chance to make a difference, Will can’t resist.

Caught between his duty to the agency and his commitment to protect his operatives, Will must persuade the man who nearly wrecked his career to give up the one and only constant in his world—revenge.

Ignacio was a low-grade runner for the infamous Macias cartel the last time he and Will spoke. Now he is the head of the family and a direct beneficiary of MI6 cost-cutting measures. Will knows that approaching such a man without his superiors’ knowledge or approval is a perilous undertaking, but he doesn’t expect his body and heart to become forfeit. As events spiral out of his control, Will finds himself at the mercy of an old lover intent on awakening desires he long thought suppressed.

ISBN: 978-1-78430-960-2

Reviewer: Shorty

Product Link:

Review: This is the fifth book in the shadow play series. Will is given a mission to is dangerous as he tries to put an end to assassinations. In the face of losing his business he wants at least one good mission. 

Ingonico has his fingers in a lot of unsavory things regarding a vicious feud with M16. These two men are past lovers and find themselves torn between their duty ad desires for one another. It is a game of cat and mouse as they both struggle to juggle both without letting on to others.

Although this book can be read as a standalone it would be better to read each book in order as everything in not revealed in each book. You get a better understanding into characters and unanswered questions the further you read the series. It was an o.k. read.