Don’t Let Go by Andrew Grey ~ Audio Review

Title: Don’t Let Go

Author: Andrew Grey

Narrator: Jeff Gelder

Genre: Contemporary, Cowboys

Length: 6 hrs, 18 mins

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (13th December 2018)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 4.5 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Avery Rivers is a country music sensation, selling records by the millions and playing to sold-out crowds. But behind that persona is Robert, a burned-out musician cracking under the pressure. He’s unable to write any new songs, and he wants out of the business – at least for a while. He changes his appearance and finds honest hard work in Jackson, Wyoming. Maybe getting to be a regular guy for a while will get him past his block.

Hy Whitely was a championship bull rider until he watched his best friend thrown in the arena and decided the rodeo circuit was no longer the place for him. He wants to be plain old Zeke for a while, and when he returns to his family ranch, he bumps right into Robert – a one-night stand from his last rodeo appearance – who is now working there as a ranch hand.

The heat between the men could sear the grass off the range, but each one is hiding a secret. Robert and Zeke, the men behind the public images, fall in love, but can they hold on when Avery and Hy are pulled back into the spotlight?

Purchase Link: Audible US | Audible UK | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: Don’t Let Go by Andrew Grey has three things that I absolutely love. Firstly, a book written by Andrew Grey is instantly on my to be read pile, second there is cowboys (on the rodeo circuit at that) and thirdly, I’m a sucker for a country singer out for a bit of romance.

This was a totally satisfying audio. The story was super sweet and the chemistry was on point, just as I expect from Andrew Grey. The last couple books I read of his had left me a little disappointed and so to me was a return to what I love about his writing. The audio narration was by Jeff Gelder, who I’ve heard narrate books in the past (and probably other Andrew Grey books too). I enjoyed the narration. He had provided a good voice for the two MCs and was good in conveying their emotions through words and tone. Overall, his style was rather laid back, which for the most part suited the backdrop of the story.

The story starts with Robert, aka Avery Rivers, is a massive star in the country music world. He is at the end of a long and exhausting tour but is already dealing with the pressure for more tour dates as well as write songs and record his new album. The biggest problem is that the words and the music are just not coming, and he is dangerously close to burning out. And so ready to drop the Avery Rivers persona and be just Robert, at least for a little while. He wants nothing more than for the music to come back but he is already fighting the fear that they will never come back if he doesn’t take this break. So, Robert shaves his hair off and makes himself only contactable by phone and he hits the road. A one-night stand while attending a rodeo sends Robert to Jackson where he manages to find work on a ranch helping an older gent on his property. For Robert it’s a dream because he had grown up on a ranch until his parents lost it and were forced to leave the land.

Hy Whitely is a star on the rodeo circuit. His actual name is Zeke and uses the stage name to maintain his privacy. He has an eventful tournament though, when his road buddy is seriously injured and sent to hospital, but not before he had a one-night stand that rocked his world. After speaking about home to Robert, who he had met a bar and after the events that culminated in Zeke winning the rodeo, he heads home to help his father on the ranch.

The biggest shock is seeing Robert again, who was just hired by his father. Zeke isn’t sure how he could live on the same property as Robert without taking him to bed again, especially without his father knowing. Things are complicated because the two men are keeping secrets from each other. Despite Robert being higher on the superstar food chain, both men are celebrities but don’t want to risk everything – just yet – and reveal their secrets, that is until they must. The biggest hurdle they face

In a lot of ways Robert and Zeke are two sides of the same coin and together they are everything that turns you to goo and believe in love. They are well matched together, I enjoyed the lack of angst and drama considering both men use stage names, not revealing their identities to each other on purpose for most of the story. is how to maintain a relationship when their jobs are not conducive to being together. Along the way I thought it was funny that Zeke’s father is the voice of reason here, although Zeke doesn’t get along with his father terribly well, the man is a rough and gruff country man and found him quite likable, particularly at the end.

If you’re into cowboys and rodeos and a splash of celebrity this will suit you. Like me, I know the whole western/cowboy/ranch sub-genre is pretty damn popular in MM and so if this is your thing, go for it I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

Sasha by Catherine Lievens

Title: Sasha

Series: Council Enforcers 18

Author: Catherine Lievens

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Length: Novella (123 Pages)

Publisher: eXtasy Books (Februray 15, 2019)

Heat level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: Sasha doesn’t want a mate. He barely even wants friends, but he’s given up on trying to keep them out of his life. He’s content as he is, working at the bar in Gillham and going home to his empty apartment. It’s better that way, and safer—for everyone. Because Sasha has a secret, and he’s already responsible for one death, and he doesn’t want anything like that to happen again.

Hunter has always been content with hookups and one-night stands. He’s never really thought about finding his mate—until he does. Sasha is standoffish, and while Hunter wishes he were an easier man to deal with, he’s ready to wait as long as he needs to in order to have him in his life. Still, when he and his team are sent on a mission in the Brazilian rainforest, he hopes that will give Sasha enough time to make a decision about them.

Sasha realizes he’s made a mistake by pushing Hunter away when Hunter doesn’t come back from the mission. Hunter is stuck in a rainforest crawling with members of the Beasts gang, and he needs help. Will Sasha be able to help him, or will he lose Hunter before he even has him?

ISBN: 978-14874-2410-7

Product Link: eXtasy Books | Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each book in the collection features a new romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters I would recommend reading the series in sequential order. This particular story is also tied to the Whitedell Pride, Gillham Pack and the Council Assassin’s series. I would start with the Whitedell Pride series and go from there if you want the full impact.

Stubborn mates is one way of looking at it. Sasha had been one of the human’s who had been captured and experimented on. He got a power that scared him and made him not want to even try it. His one try at a relationship had ended up in death and he feared loosing another. He was left with memories as well as scars from what had happened. Then his mate ended up in trouble and damn if he wasn’t going to rush in and help.

Hunter loved sex and never with the same man. Then he scented his mate and that all changed. He just didn’t know how to get through to him and how to help him. Then when a mission went bad, well lets just say the shock of his mate stunned him.

I liked the guys quite a bit although I felt more for Sasha. He just pulled to me more than the others. His story was horrible and I understood him better than Hunter. It is an action packed story with quite a bit of excitement and hot sexy times. This is one of those stories that will be read many times over. I was also glad to see Nysys in it, he always makes my day.

I had a blast reading this and can’t wait to get my hands on the next story.

Becoming D’Vaire by Jessamyn Kingley

Title: Becoming D’Vaire

Series: D’Vaire 11

Author: Jessamyn Kingley

Genre: Fantasy, Urban Fantasy

Length: Novel (326pgs)

Publisher: Jessamyn Kingley (March 14, 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: High Arcanist Delaney D’Vaire is the world’s only dark wizard, something that has alienated him from his people since birth. Orphaned as a child, he is shuffled around until the Prism Wizard sees his potential, steps in, and enrolls him in school. Though he never truly feels like he belongs, Delaney excels. Graduating at sixteen, he applies to a unique sanctuary, and his life forever changes when he is accepted. Delaney has the family he’s always wanted; surrounded by love and support, he’s grown into a young man, giving everything to help the people who still scorn him, though he continues to doubt himself. All he needs now is his mate, but Delaney is skeptical that even Fate could come up with his perfect match.

Vampyr Lord Grigori Volkov is the genius of his family. Numbers line up in his head, and he loses sight of the world around him. At fourteen, young Grigori creates a nearly synthetic version of blood to sustain his people, saving countless lives. Content to remain out of the spotlight, his involvement is kept from the general public. Since then, Grigori has spent most of his time alone in his lab, learning all he can and pushing his limits. At twenty-six, Grigori is content with his solitude and doesn’t believe Fate has him in her sights.

When the High Arcanist and the Vampyr Lord appear at the same event, they are stunned to find that Fate indeed has a plan for them. Reeling from their discovery, the mates set upon the task of getting to know each other. It does not take them long to find common ground, but as Delaney and Grigori build their life together, old foes will test them and their entire family. The path Fate has laid out for them is not simple, but they must be strong enough to trust in each other and stand together rather than alone to learn what it truly means to become D’Vaire.

ISBN: B07PKBRBZK

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: In this addition to the D’Vaire series Delaney is front and center as he meets quirky, scientist vampire Lord Grigori. I loved Grigori and his absentmindedness. It was so cute when he panicked after missing their first date by accident. These two were a great match for the other. Delaney’s familiar was a riot with what he did to Grigori while he was sleeping.

Though the majority of the book surrounds Delaney and Grigori many other things are happening as well. We finally get a resolution to Latarain and her evil grandfather once and for all not to mention shadowwalking and a few other things that happen along the way.

This is a fantastic series as each new character that is introduced seems to fit the D’vaire family perfectly and further the series into deeper depths. I am looking forward to seeing what happens next. I am curious why the wife of Duff’s brother was not prosecuted for what she did, after all she did travel to the United States in an attempt to kidnap Delaney so she should have been brought back to stand trial. Surely the sentinels or reverent knights could have picked up on her magic signature or what have you but that’s my opinion.

Fantastic read and highly recommended.

No Rules Required by Lynn Hagen

Title: No Rules Required

Series: Brac Village 30

Author: Lynn Hagen

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Length: Novella (78pgs)

Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand, Inc. (March 11, 2019)

Heat level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Blurb: Desperate to get out of a bad situation, Corey flees the city only to find himself in some small town. Brac Village is a hidden gem, an oasis for Corey to figure out his next move. Or so he thought. For two days he slept in his car, unable to find a place to rent, until luck strikes and he overhears some guy whining about needing a roommate. Corey feels as if his life is finally turning around, until he meets his roommate’s uncle. Lord help him.

Jake has been given an undercover assignment from his boss back in Chicago. Find the partner of the dirty cop and take him down. Everyone on the Brac Village police force is a suspect, and Jake is determined to catch the killer. What he hadn’t expected was to find his mate. But Corey’s not easy to pin down, not when he’s hiding secrets about a past he’s running from.

ISBN: 9781642436921

Product Link: Siren-BookStrand

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each Book in the Brac Village collection features a new romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters I would recommend reading them in sequential order. This particular story is connected to the Brac Pack, Zeus Pack, Christian’s Coven, Brac Pack Next Generation, and Demon Warriors. To enjoy this to get the full impact I would suggest starting with the Brac Pack series first.

Corey flees an abusive situation and ends up in Brac Village. However he seems to only have bad luck. He can’t find a place to stay for one. That is until he overhears someone who needs a new roommate. Things might just be looking up especially when he even lands a job.

Jake has been assigned to find the man who killed an innocent. He joins the police department in Brac Village and has the luck of finding an apartment right across from his nephew and his mate. He knows that one of the killers had been a cop that had been killed not too long ago, but to him everyone at the station might just be the other killer. He must protect his mate and in comes the surprises with this one.

I enjoyed the humor mixed in with the seriousness of the story. The characters are quite enjoyable and sweet, or at least Corey is. Jake is a bit like the cop down the street, hard headed and strong. I like that the story is full of action, excitement and entertaining. However it felt rushed which has been a pattern with the last few books by this author that I have been reading.

Other than my issues with the story it was an enjoyable read it and I look forward to the next book.

Death By Dick by James Cox

Title: Death By Dick

Series: Cox Tales 02

Author: James Cox

Genre: Contemporary, Suspense

Length: Novella (146pgs)

Publisher: Evernight Publishing (4th September 2018)

Heat Level: Moderate – Explicit

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: The day a hooker dropped dead on Kyler’s dick changed his life forever…

When Kyler graduated high school, he wanted to give himself the gift of his first blowjob from a sexy male hooker. Then said hooker drops dead in his lap. Yeah, he has that kind of luck. Now, the police are after him, he can’t go home because of an abusive father, and he ends up working at The Cox Club, a small town gay gentlemen’s club.

Seamus is on his first undercover mission for the FBI. The problem is that he doesn’t think their terrorist suspect, Kyler, is guilty. Oh, and there’s also the matter of giving Kyler a hand job … on the FBI’s hidden camera. His first field mission may be his last.

When bullets start flying, it’s up to Seamus to find out the truth and he has to do it before Kyler becomes a victim.

Be Warned: m/m sex

ISBN: 978-1-77339-787-0

Product Link: Evernight Publishing | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: Kyler works at the cox club when he meets Seamus, an undercover FBI agent sent to investigate him for terrorist attacks. Seamus thinks Kyler is innocent as he grows closer to the young man. What starts out as an investigation quickly turns into so much more between the two men.

I loved everything about this story. The plot was amazing. The characters all had their roles to pay in bringing this story to life. The investigation was detailed and engaging.

Fantastic addition to the series and highly recommended.

The Wolf by Your Side by Alexia Ward

Title: The Wolf by Your Side

Series: Magnificent Beast 04

Author: Alexia Ward

Genre: Paranormal

Length: Novella

Publisher: Siren Publishing (21st December 2017)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Blurb: Sebastian Dark is in love with his boss, a grizzly bear shifter named Christian Cruz. He’s never had the courage to tell him. When Christian invites him on a weeklong trip to a Palm Beach resort, Sebastian jumps at the chance, hoping to finally tell Christian how he feels and show him how wonderful they could be together.

Christian Cruz can’t believe he accepted to be his ex-boyfriend’s best man. Unfortunately, he can’t take it back. He has to face his ex and the bridal party in Palm Beach. Luckily, Sebastian has offered to accompany him. Christian has heard from his brother that the wolf shifter likes him. He’s hoping to get to know Sebastian on a more intimate level and see where things lead.

But just as they grow closer, danger threatens to tear them apart. Mother Nature is about to unleash her deadly wrath. Christian and Sebastian are directly in her path. Can Christian keep Sebastian, the shifter he’s falling in love with, safe?

ISBN: 9781640108134

Product Link: Siren-BookStrand | Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each book in the Magnificent Beasts collection features a different romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters, I would recommend reading the series in sequential order.

Sebastian is the youngest brother in the family and he is about to go out of his mind. He has had the hots for his boss and his best friends uncle for quite sometime, but he never lets Christian know. That is until his older brother brings home a human mate, and his best friend is still out. So with a few drinks in him, he blurts it out.

Christian can’t believe his luck. He thought he might be getting back with his ex, only for his ex to tell him he is getting married. He is getting married to a female and wants Christian to be his best man. One night out and he finds out that Sebastian has the hots for him. He invites him to the wedding. Things happen and well you will just have to read the book.

It is a very interesting and entertaining tale. It is also flaky, weak, and came off like it had been a rush job. There was great potential, but for some reason it just didn’t work out. Even though it came off rushed, it still was a fun read. I did like the characters, but their chemistry was not there at first. I mean one minute you were madly in love with your ex, then the next with one kiss your heart is being changed. Then for added juice, throw in an disaster, which could have been left off. The whole story was just off to me. I was hoping that the previous books were a fluke, but the writing just keeps going in the same direction. It is still an interesting read.

The CEO’s Christmas Manny by Amanda McAllister

Title: The CEO’s Christmas Manny

Series: Dreamspun Desires 72 / Beyond the Boardroom 01

Author: Angela McAllister

Genre: Contemporary

Length: Novel (222 pages)

ISBN: 978-1-64405-120-7

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (18 Dec 2018)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Anything but business as usual.

Billionaire CEO Nic Price lives for his job. With sales down and grumbling from the board of directors—including Nic’s permanently dissatisfied father—the last thing Nic needs is distraction from the new manny, whose freewheeling approach to childcare is outlandish… and who makes Nic feel things he’s never allowed himself to feel.

Ex-teacher Sasha Lindsey is all about fun—that’s the reason people love him, so he has to be. After a bad break-up leaves him jobless and homeless, the live-in manny job with Mr. Price seems like a windfall. But his chemistry with Nic is off the charts, and he can’t afford another workplace romance disaster.

Can Nic leave his dominance in the bedroom and open his heart to the best thing that’s ever happened to him? Or will Sasha’s leap of faith backfire and ruin his chances at the family happily ever after he’s always dreamed of?

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: The CEO’s Christmas Manny is Dreamspun Desires book by Angela McAllister. While the author is unknown to me, I love to devour many Dreamspun Desires books and wonderful (both sweet and sexy) romances that the various authors write. Add into the mix that I love a good Christmas romance and a good romance with hot boss and his manny, I was ready to pick this book up with not much thought at all.

Nic Price is the stereotypical CEO/billionaire in so many romance novels. He is a ruthless business man and is great at his job, that’s why he’s a billionaire. However, he has to cope with the stress of the board of his family company, including his father who is never satisfied with anything that Nic does, despite increasing the company profit’s over the last few years. On top of that he also the guardian of his orphaned niece and nephew. Since he’s had them for a few years and has been so distracted by business he has now lost his connection with but doesn’t take the time to care that this has happened because ultimately this all loops around to the fact that his father is forever down his throat and issuing threats about the family company (yes, another stereotype but totally works). The kids have gone through another nanny and so another is hired.

This is where we meet young, idealistic and enthusiastic teacher, Sasha Lindsey (and of course everyone expects him to be a female). Sasha lost his job as a casual teacher at a school in favour of someone who is tenured. This was orchestrated by his ex, which also means that Sasha has also lost a lot of money he had put into their shared rental as well as his home. So the job as a live in manny is a godsend, especially at Christmastime. If I’m going to continue with iconic movie comparisons, Sasha is like Mr Keating in The Dead Poet’s Society. He wants to engage his students, not just tell them what they need to know, he wants them to enjoy learning and to have fun.

Nic finds it hard to open his heart to the kids and to Sasha, especially now that he has been threatened with losing his position if he can’t increase profits further. But Sasha is sweetness and happiness and love which Nic has never known from his family and eventually, despite a bit of drama, these guys are inevitable.

I really loved this book. It fulfilled every soppy romantic fantasy I have, despite being a tad too predictable and the story kind of reminding me of The Sound of Music (not a bad thing really). The chemistry between Nic and Sasha is off the charts and it was easy to relate to both of them, even if Nic was a grouch that needed Sasha’s love to heal is heart and show him how to really live life and to be happy. I noticed that this is part of a series and I would really love to read more from both this series (Beyond the Boardroom) and the author in the future.

A Symposium In Space by K.S. Trenten Release Blast. Excerpt & Giveaway!

K.S. Trenten - A Symposium in Space RB Banner

Hi guys! We have K.S. Trenten stopping by today with her new release A Symposium In Space, we have a great excerpt and a brilliant $10 NineStar GC giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤ ~Pixie~

A Symposium In Space

by

K.S. Trenten

Phaedra and her lover, Pausania are invited to a dinner party. Only this won’t be like any party Phaedra has ever been to. Nor does Pausania want her to go. But Phaedra is determined, even if she has to find her own way to this symposium in space.

A fateful encounter with the spaceship of her dreams and the wandering philosopher, Sokrat, lead Phaedra to a unique gathering of individuals where thoughts of love are offered up…and consumed.

.•.•.**❣️ NineStar | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “A Symposium In Space by K.S. Trenten Release Blast. Excerpt & Giveaway!”

A Wish Upon the Stars by T.J. Klune ~ Audio Review

Title: A Wish Upon the Stars

Series: Tales of Verania 04

Author: T.J. Klune

Narrator: Michael Lesley

Genre: High Fantasy

Length: 18 hrs, 17 mins

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (28th November 2018)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Nearly a year ago, blinded by grief and betrayal, Sam of Wilds made a desperate decision to fol-low the Great White into the Dark Woods. Now, he emerges to a world changed.

The City of Lockes is a prison. The King has been locked away in the dungeons. The Kingdom of Verania has fallen, and the Dark wizard Myrin sits on the throne.

But soon after his return, Sam learns of a resistance fighting in his name, led by a courageous knight, a defiant prince, a pissed-off unicorn, and a half-giant who wants to smash everything in sight. If he has any hope of defeating the villains who have taken their home, Sam must face the consequences of his choices – and the friends he left behind.

Purchase Link: Audible US | Audible UK | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: I absolutely adore TJ Klune. I adore just about every book he writes. I love how he can make a reader laugh and cry within the same book within pages of each other. But mostly I love how he can keep an audience entertained where I am, more often than not, laughing throughout a book, and in the case of audio books I’m often on public transport trying not to be obvious. However, that also applies for when I’m on public transport and trying not to cry.

A Wish Upon the Stars is the fourth and final book in TJ Klune’s Tales of Verania. The whole concept of wishing upon the stars is a theme that has been present throughout the series, as have the titles of the other books. However, I feel that this is the most aptly named of the series. It is essential to read this series in order because this is complex world that has been built, with some equally complex characters that are very well developed and at this point I am completely invested in.

The world is completely different in the aftermath of the previous book, The Consumption of Magic. Sam, strong willed as he is, decided that he had to fulfil the prophecy of the Great White Dragon (or as Sam calls him, GW). And so after being away almost a year, he has returned to chaos. On top of that his friends are furious with him, especially his very own knight and wizard’s cornerstone, Ryan Foxheart. They have become hardened warriors as the dark wizards take over and it is pure heartbreak. On top of that, the king is now held prisoner, but this has given the chance for Prince Justin to step up and become an absolutely amazing character. The only person he has on side at first is Kevin, who is also in the proverbial doghouse with Gary, since the dragon had followed Sam with no words to his sassy unicorn lover.

There is more heartbreak to comes as the ends of the stories are eventually woven and we find out the fate of Verania. This book brings in a lot more humour as the gang is reunited and are finally working together once again to defeat Myrin and the dark wizards he commands. There are so many funny moments, including when we get to meet Gary’s twin brother or the interpretive dance that was performed as Gary tells the story of how he lost his horn and therefore a great deal of his magic. I was so glad that that storyline was resolved and we got to see Gary return to all his glory as the pieces came together and the final battle takes place.

As with the previous instalments in this series Michael Lesley’s is an absolute joy. His delivery is heartfelt and pretty much flawless. He has carried on to the end with the same distinct voices that he gave to all the characters, which I feel has enhanced the entire experience. He wonderfully articulates the emotion in the characters as they go through their highs and lows. I don’t want to keep gushing as I know that I am repeating myself about my adoration of Lesley’s narration and Klune’s writing. Cannot recommend enough.

I am sad to see the end of this series. I was surprised that I did in fact love The Lightning Struck, which is why I continued on to the next three books, after not enjoying reading it a few years ago when it first came out. I absolutely loved the ending as the ends all tied together. I feel battered and bruised but just as Klune expertly does, he’s pulls you apart with the emotions he injects into his words and slowly builds you back up, even when the odds were completely against our heroes. Rumour has it TJ plans to do a story for Prince Justin (Sam’s best friend 5eva) and that is something I look forward to, although the man seems so busy I’m sure it’s going to be at least a few years.

The Enchanter’s Flame by Michele Notaro

Title: The Enchanter’s Flame

Series: The Ellwood Chronicles 01

Author: Michele Notaro

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Witches & Wizards

Length: Novel (364pgs)

Publisher: Michele Notaro (August 18, 2018)

Heat Level: Low – Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 4 1/2 Hearts

Blurb: Strange things are happening all around Brinnswick. Things that remind me of a piece of my past I’d rather forget. Girls are being killed, drained of blood, and left with strange markings on their bodies. When I finally connect the cases together, a specialist is called in—though, what he’s a specialist of is beyond me.

When the chief assigns him as my new partner for the case, I can’t help but groan on the inside. Why of all people would I be assigned to Ailin Ellwood? The man is a disaster waiting to happen and a jerk to boot. A sexy jerk, but a jerk nonetheless.

What will Sebastian think when he discovers Ailin’s specialty? Will he make a run for it or will he stick around and discover a world of magic hidden beneath the city’s surface?

***The Enchanter’s Flame is the first book in the Ellwood Chronicles. It’s a paranormal romance that contains explicit material and is intended for mature adults 18 and over.***

ISBN: B07GMWTW2B

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: Sebastian is partnered with Ailin after a string of ritualistic murders to help find the perpetrator and bring him to justice. But there is more going on than Seb realizes as he is drawn further and further into the case. Seb for his part has no knowledge of his parents having been raised in a group home. Ailin is more than he portrays and revelations come to light when Seb is attacked and almost killed by the demon they are hunting.

Intriguing story with many characters and twists and turns that add to the story to help it come to life. The murders are horrifying and the actual villain is scary but for all that I was more fascinated with Seb from the start. He seemed more than he was but had no clue. I was astonished when his secret, that he had no knowledge of, came out.

A great mystery/thriller with plenty of details and characters that keep you reading until the very end.

Great read.

Meet Me At Sunrise by Lynn Hagen

Title: Meet Me At Sunrise

Series: Mercury Rising 11

Author: Lynn Hagen

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Ménage

Length: Novella (106 Pages)

Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand, Inc. (January 2, 2019)

Heat level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 3.5 Hearts

Blurb: Colton has been fighting for nearly a year not to become Master of the vampire coven. When a capture warrant brings him to Black Dragon, he has no choice but to face the Veneto triplets. Colton is split between his allegiance to his pack and his responsibilities to the coven he left leaderless after killing Magnus. When Matt basically disowns Colton, he has no choice but to turn to the coven he’s loathed for so long. But the brothers aren’t fighting fair, and when they claim Colton as their mate, his loyalties are torn.

Lucian, Corbin, and Antonio have been trying to lure Colton to the coven, but their efforts have been fruitless until Colton shows up with a capture warrant. They finally have their wolf where he belongs, but can they keep Colton at their side, or will he rejoin his pack to hunt down the creatures from the veil that have been set loose in Mercury?

ISBN: 978-1-64243-5719

Product Link: Siren-Bookstrand | Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each Book in the Mercury Rising collection features a new romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters I would recommend reading them in sequential order. Although with this story your looking at four men mating.

Colton hated vampires and now he was their leader. Here he was a wolf shifter in charge of a coven that killed his little brother. To top it off he had not one, not two but three mates. Triplets that were all vampires.

I like Colton from the previous stories however I didn’t care for this story. It was harder to get into for one and then there was the fact that he was turned into a vampire without permission. The story was not as engaging as most of this author’s work has been. I just couldn’t get my head into it. I am not a fan of this many mates in one mating. It just comes off poorly to me. The story itself felt rushed and I didn’t care for the vampires at all.

I hate to say it but this story just didn’t draw me in as it should have and makes me want to stray from anymore of this series. However I have not left a series unread in awhile so we will see what the next one has going for it.

A Taste for Poison by Aleksandr Voinov (2nd Edition)

Title: A Taste for Poison

Series: Memory of Scorpions 03

Author: Aleksandr Voinov

Genre: Fantasy, Military

Length: Novel (247 pages)

ISBN: 9781386750864

Publisher: 44 Raccoons (23rd December 2018)

Heat Level: Explicit

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 4.5 Hearts

Reviewer: Thommie

Blurb: Even a king gets stung when he reaches for a scorpion.

After barely surviving an assassination attempt, King Adrastes is a changed man—one who mistrusts even his allies and friends. He readies his empire for war against an enigmatic enemy, the Elder of Vededrin, but not everyone approves. While courtiers dare only to whisper dissent, an outrider called Death foments rebellion in the mountains, aided by a prophecy that promises he’ll stop the Black King.

Kendras—former lover to Adrastes and leader of the Scorpions—is sent with his elite mercenary force to bring Death to justice. But when Kendras learns who’s hiding behind the mask, he must choose between his lover Graukar, newly appointed general to the king—and King Adrastes himself.

With no man to call master, the Scorpions could flee the danger and intrigue. But Kendras cannot abandon the man he once loved—or the man he’s growing to love—without first uncovering the real threat to the Empire.

Purchase Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: I think it took me forever to find the time and finally finish this book. I seriously hated real life for stealing my time away, but I made it and *sigh* now I’m going to have to go over yet another book-hangover. It’s a thing with Voinov’s books and me, happens almost every time.

A Taste for Poison is the third and final book of the Memory of Scorpions universe, though rumour has it that Voinov is considering writing some shorts about some characters. As a fan, I truly hope it’ll happen.

So back to this book, yet again we were graced with a strong story, capable of grabbing your brain and imprisoning it in the depths of the plot. Action, blood, gore. Love, lust, passion. Jealousy, pain, fury. Intrigues, betrayals, back-stabbings.

More often than not, I felt like living in the story and I can’t begin to tell you how wonderful a feeling that is. The intensity of the storytelling is spectacular and leaves you without breath. Expect heart palpitations, heartbreaks, and even a tear shedding or two. Also, expect the sizzling hot passion and the one-of-the-kind love manifestation Voinov is so famous for being able to recreate in writing. And if you think you won’t get bat-shit-crazy mad with characters and events, think again.

The story itself takes a turn and what we suspected in book #2 became reality. It shifted from having Adrastes as the main person of Kendras’s interest to Graukar and while that was expected it managed to shock us with what Graukar suffers in the path of Adrastes’s fury. It will make you cringe and shudder, but it’s well worth it and raises the tension of the story way above high. It made Kendras look so damn good in my eyes too and I think it was about time, as he left me with an uneasy feeling in book #2.

Other than that, I don’t think I need to point out the quality of this book. Anyone who has read a book from Riptide knows to expect only the best. Wonderful editing work, fonts and presentation always making you feel like you’re reading a paperback. There are times I wonder why I can’t smell the pages and I laugh at myself. But you get the point. It’s so nice to have to focus only in the story without having minor details, such as typos or poor proofing, take your concentration away.

In the end, all there is to add here is; if you are not acquainted with the Memory of Scorpions universe I strongly recommend it to you.

The Pied Piper of Maddox by Cree Storm & Maggie Walsh

Title: The Pied Piper of Maddox

Series: Eternal Flames Maddox 09

Author: Cree Storm & Maggie Walsh

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Menage

Length: Novella (177pgs)

Publisher: Cree Storm & Maggie Walsh (15th February 2019)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: Baxter Kenny is the owner of Maddox’s only hotel. When strange and unexplainable things start happening, Baxter starts to believe his hotel may be haunted. Then one night the fire alarm goes off and Baxter rushes through the halls, making sure all his guest are evacuating. Just as he is about to leave as well, he finds a sweet little girl hiding in the lobby. When Baxter talks to her, trying to get her outside and to safety, he is shocked when Laurie explains that a “ghost” rescued her from her room and left her there to wait for Baxter.

Dallas, the Maddox Arson Investigator is called onto the scene at the Maddox Hotel. When he meets the gorgeous man who owns the hotel, Dallas is shocked to find out the little human is his mate.

As the two work together to find out who started the fire, suddenly little Laurie goes missing. After watching the surveillance footage from around the hotel, they, along with Nick, the fire chief are shocked to see that Baxter may be on track with his ghost theory.

Miles is a lonely soul who ran from his home, distressed over the shame he brought on his family because of who he is. After a long search he believes he has found the right place for him when he comes across the Maddox Hotel, but when the little girl Laurie is threatened to be taken away, Miles steps in to save her.

When Miles is finally discovered, he is shocked to find that it is not only his mate that has found him but that he has two. The sweet hotel owner, Baxter, who he has been admiring from afar since his arrival, along with the hot Fireman, dragon shifter, Dallas.

When the smoke clears and the people of Maddox discover that Laurie may be part of a larger crime ring, the three join forces to do everything they can to hold onto the little girl who has stolen their hearts, and at the same time learn to come together as a mated tri.

ISBN: B07NTQ8M4G

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each Book in the Eternal Flames Maddox collection features a new romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters I would recommend reading them in sequential order. This story is connected to the Eternal Flames and the Kaliss series.

Lounge rearranged, pool cleaned, towel’s used, food missing and cooked food when no one is around might just be the sign of the perfect guest. However this unexpected guest also started a fire by accident and he was unseen. However Miles managed to save a little girl from the fire, although he was the one that had started that fire, by accident of course. Miles was a Siren who ran away from home because he couldn’t hold a tune, but there are many surprises to come to him real soon.

Baxter was a sweet hotel owner who loved to help people. He just couldn’t figure out who was doing the surprising things around the hotel when no one was around and even the camera’s didn’t catch him. When a fire starts and he finds a cutie pie who says the white man saved her and told her to watch for Baxter, he is starting to think that his hotel might just be haunted.

Dallas is the fire investigator who is the lucky man to deal with the hotel fire, but even luckier because he has found his mate. When they find out about Miles, lets just say three is definitely not a crowd for these sexy men. However there is something major about the little girl that might just lead them to a larger problem.

Entertaining, exciting, full of action and danger but lets not forget some hot sexy times. You don’t just get two sexy men but three. This is one of those stories that will be read many times over and never forgotten. I am always on the lookout for these books and have always enjoyed the characters that are involved. I especially love when I get to see some of my favorite characters showing up. As always my attention was caught from the moment I started reading and kept all the way to the end. Not a thing was missing from it and that is a plus.

I had a blast reading this and can’t wait to get my hands on the next book. I would definitely recommend this book and can guarantee that you will enjoy it. Now I am off to read it again.

Contact by M.D. Neu

Title: Contact

Series: A New World 01

Author: M.D. Neu

Genre: Science Fiction

Length: Novel (255pgs)

Publisher: Nine Star Press (January 21, 2019)

Heat Level: Low – Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 3 1/2 Hearts

Blurb: A little blue world, the third planet from the sun. It’s home to seven billion people—with all manner of faiths, beliefs, and customs, divided by bigotry and misunderstanding—who will soon be told they are not alone in the universe. Anyone watching from the outside would pass by this fractured and tumultuous world, unless they had no other choice. Todd Landon is one of these people, living and working in a section of the world called the United States of America. His life is similar to those around him: home, family, work, friends, and a husband.

On the cusp of the greatest announcement humankind has ever witnessed, Todd’s personal world is thrown into turmoil when his estranged brother shows up on his front porch with news of ships heading for Earth’s orbit. The ships are holding the Nentraee, a humanoid race who have come to Earth in need of help after fleeing the destruction of their homeworld. How will one man bridge the gap for both the Humans and Nentraee, amongst mistrust, terrorist attacks, and personal loss? Will this be the start of a new age of man or will bigotry and miscommunication bring this small world to its knees and final end?

ISBN: 978-1-949909-88-3

Product Link: NineStar | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: This story is about what might happen if aliens came to earth looking for a new home. Todd the MC was a bit in the clouds until the aliens come. I liked the relationship between Jerry and him but felt there was no real romance. Brad, Todd’s brother got on my nerves at first with his hurtful comments but changes his tune.

I wanted to love this story but it fell kinda flat for me. The aliens were the normal aliens looking for a new home after theirs was destroyed. I liked Todd and the rest of the characters but for me they were just words on a screen and I never connected with any of them for some reason.

It was an interesting take on how humans would react to aliens coming to earth and all the emotions that would entail. I am looking forward to the next book as this one seemed more in line with an introduction to the series.

Good read.

Whiskey and Moonshine by Elizabeth Noble

Title: Whiskey to Moonshine

Series: Dreamspun Desires 74

Author: Elizabeth Noble

Genre: Contemporary

Length: Novel (228 pages)

ISBN: 978-1-64080-382-4

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (15 Jan 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Drunk on love.

Like a well-aged whiskey, master distiller and old-money entrepreneur Malone Kensington is elegant and refined. Unfortunately he’s also a perfectionist who is more dedicated to the success of his generations-old company than his own love life.

That company needs a public spokesman.

What Colton Hale lacks in sophistication, he more than makes up for with the charisma that’s allowed him to survive on the street from a young age and charm his way into the lucrative—if overwhelming—public position at the Kensington Distillery. When Mal takes Colt under his wing, hoping to polish off his rough edges, opposites attract and a passionate romance blossoms despite the differences in age and background. But can it survive a Kensington Board of Directors who believe Colt is nothing but a gold digger and a kidnapper determined to profit from the love of Mal’s life—dead or alive?

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK 

Review: Whiskey and Moonshine is a really charming romance set in Tennessee, obviously amongst whiskey and moonshine stills by Elizabeth Noble. Noble is an author who is certainly on my radar and in my mind as an author whose style and stories I enjoy, and combined with the fact that this is part of Dreamspun Desires line, I was totally down to reading this book.

The story may revolve around whiskey and moonshine, but it is one particular company that is run by a very sexy man who is dedicated to his family’s company and making it more accessible for the younger generations that is the focus of this story. I say that and it sounds like we’re talking about an old guy – we’re not, he’s thirty-six, but the company has been in the family for three generations and it does need to catch up to the current generation.

The story opens with Colton Hale, he’s twenty-four and has been living on the streets of Toledo since he was fifteen, which was when he had been kicked out of home for being gay. The most recent run in with violent thugs has Colton ready to make a new start, so he gets the first bus that will get him out and his new adventure starts. The bus ride brings him to the Kensington family’s whiskey distillery. They’re a rich and hugely successful distillery in Tennessee. Colt manages to get himself a job and just six weeks later shows his ingenuity and passion for his work that leads him to another job for the company.

Mal, the head of the Kensington family company which had been previously run by his mother, sees a lot of potential in Colton. There’s the potential Colton has to help sell the whiskey brand on social media and help the company branch out, but he has to hold back his attraction for the man, even though he knows Colt’s shady past. The two men work well together and Mal decides to use the age gap between them as the excuse he needs to mentally force himself from pining for his social media face of the company.

Alright. I have to do this. I’m about to nerd out and dedicate a paragraph gushing about how awesome it was to read a book that appreciates the Joss Whedon TV showed Firefly. Because I’m a browncoat and the fact that it features so prominently in a book I enjoyed was shiny. So, if you’re not a fan and didn’t appreciate words such as browncoat or shiny, perhaps switch off for the next paragraph.

Right, I’m going to admit. I’m a total sucker for Firefly. Because of that I see the name Mal and I think Captain Malcolm Reynolds – though I can never say I was disappointed to realise that this Mal is short for Malone. Whatever. But it is sweet and smart Colt, who hasn’t had the best 9 or so years of his life getting into Firefly into the book that got to me. I really enjoyed the imagery conjured when Colt mentions the last line in the theme song, relating it to the backdrop of the rambling Kensington distillery/estate. But the best part, when everything seems to be falling apart Colt uses a Firefly reference to get Colt to help him.

This was a really enjoyable story. The characters were relatable and felt accessible to the reader, or at least to me. I’m not sure how to go about recommendations. I mean, it isn’t actually set in a boardroom with a powerful CEO finding love in unexpected places, but this is definitely an employee to lover romance and Mal is certainly a powerful (sexy-as-sin) CEO. So, I suppose if you like any romance set around vineyards (I’ve read a few of those of late) then this is another one to enjoy. There is also an interesting celebrity element, where Colt navigates the world of social media and gains fame as the face of the Kensington brand. Also, in terms of Colt this is a rags to riches romance too. As already mentioned, Firefly fans will be tickled to see love for the awesome show.

Conviction by M.D. Neu Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!

M.D. Neu - Conviction RB Banner

Hi guys! We have M.D. Neu stopping by today with his new release Conviction, we have a great excerpt and a fantastic $10 NineStar GC giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤ ~Pixie~

Conviction

(A New World 02)
by

M.D. Neu

A little blue world, the third planet from the sun. It’s home to 7 billion people with all manner of faiths, beliefs and customs, divided by bigotry and misunderstanding, who will soon be told they are not alone in the universe. Anyone watching from the outside would pass by this fractured and tumultuous world, unless they had no other choice.

Todd Landon is one of these people, living and working in a section of the world called the United States of America. His life is similar to those around him: home, family, work, friends and a husband.

After the attack on San Jose, Todd is appointed to Special Envoy for Terran Affairs by the nentraee, a position many world leaders question. Undeterred Todd wants to build bridges between both people. However, this new position brings with it a new set of problems that not only he, but his new allies Mi’ko and Mirtoff must overcome. Will the humans and nentraee learn to work together despite mistrust and threats of more attacks by a new global terrorist group, or will the terrorists win? Will this bring an end to an already shaky alliance between nentraee and humans?

Warning: Graphic Violence

.•.•.**❣️ NineStar | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “Conviction by M.D. Neu Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!”

New Boy at the Academy by Sam Hawk Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Sam Hawk - New Boy at the Academy RB Banner

Hi guys, we have Sam Hawk stopping by today with his debut release New Boy at the Academy, we have a great excerpt and a brilliant $10 NineStar GC giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway!  ❤ ~Pixie~

New Boy at the Academy

(Tales from the Academy 01)
by

Sam Hawk

Timmy had no clue that the first day of 10th grade at the Academy would rock his world. He thought it would be just like last year, with its endless bullying and recesses spent reshelving books in the library with his best and only friend Carleen. The sissy boy and the fat girl had bonded over their shared outcast status. But Carleen shows up filled with sassy confidence and declares they’re going to rule the school. By Christmas, the freaks and nerds would be the cool kids, and the mean girls and jocks would be the outcasts. Something had happened to her over the summer, but what?

And then, the two of them lay eyes on the new boy at the Academy. Doug has auburn feathered hair, veiny biceps, and green eyes the color of Sprite bottles. Plus, he’s come all the way from exotic Los Angeles, California. He rocks out to Patti Smith while Timmy loves ABBA. How does someone so cool end up in tiny, conservative Edgewood, South Carolina?

When Carleen immediately declares Doug a fox and her new prospective boyfriend, Timmy is shocked at his jealous reaction. He’s not supposed to like boys in that way, is he? Doug stirs up weird new emotions deep inside him as Timmy embarks on the adventure of his life. He and his hometown will never be the same.

.•.•.**❣️ NineStar | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “New Boy at the Academy by Sam Hawk Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!”

Lying with Scorpions by Aleksandr Voinov (2nd Edition)

Title: Lying with Scorpions

Series: Memory of Scorpions 02

Author: Aleksandr Voinov

Genre:  Historical Fantasy

ISBN: 9781540151353

Length: Novel (303 pgs)

Publisher: 44 Raccoons (23rd December 2018)

Heat Level: Explicit

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 3.5 Hearts

Reviewer: Thommie

Blurb: If you lie with scorpions, you’d better have a taste for poison.

Now that Kendras’s lover Adrastes has claimed the throne of Dalman, Kendras is tangled deeper than ever in politics and intrigue. As the new leader of the Scorpions and Adrastes’s one true friend, he and his men stand between Adrastes and those who wish him dead.

And many do. Adrastes openly challenges the ocean priesthood for power while establishing himself at court and brokering with the realm’s various factions. He means for the Scorpions to become a fearsome legion again, but Kendras must first learn how to be a good officer and recruit to replace the fallen. His choices will determine the future of a group steeped in hundreds of years of history and tradition.

As both Kendras and Adrastes settle old scores, a new enemy arises in Commander Graukar, a war hero loyal to the old order. In his formidable mountain fortress, Graukar may hold the balance of power. But while Adrastes aims to either rule or destroy Graukar, Kendras finds himself doubting Adrastes for the first time, and sharing more with Graukar than he ever thought possible.

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: Well, it’s finally done and after a long time filled with anticipation, book two of the Memory of Scorpions takes us into yet another enthralling tale.

In direct opposition with Book one, this novel starts relatively calm. Adrastes is now the new Lord Protector and on his way to claim Dalman and her throne with his very own personal guard, the Scorpions, and his lover Kendras at his side as his personal bodyguard. And they are needed too, because Adrastes claims the throne with barely concealed threats.

And it is apparent that this book is quite different from the previous in many ways. It starts calmly and the plot flows steady, slowly taking you through the story. Nearly half of the book is a slow pacing through Adrastes’s setting on the throne, the games and politics of the generals, a slow change on Adrastes’ personality or perhaps character leaving Kendras in a state of uncertainty for most of the read. Now I always thought that Kendras has a lot of inner thinking going on with him, but his new role as Officer has him overdoing it. I’m not sure how much I liked that fact or the drag of half of this story.

However the pace did pick up, the story became quite interesting and surprising. I think I felt the same with Kendras there when it came to Graukar and the Ambassador of the Jaishani. I was astonished with those characters. I expected a brute on Graukar and his genteel soul left me with a jaw hanging. As for the Ambassador, oh my, what a character, and what amazing possibilities that one brings for the future of this series.

So there it is, this book starts shattering slowly into pieces once the action picks up. I loved the “mission,” I loved the amazing help of the Black Legion, I loved the feeling and emotions that came from the unexpected new love affair, and I felt the painful grip in my heart when Kendras finally got a glimpse in his past and his family. I think that was the mostly emotional charged part of this entire second installment, with a second the Betrayal that came to the end. The pinnacle of intensity and what made me so sad in the end, but so very much-needed to give the story the push and reason to move on. As much as I saw the need for it, I must admit I close the book with the thought “poor Kendras.”

Overall, it was a great sequel to the first book however, for me it didn’t quite shake me like the first one. I loved it however and I’m definitely now more interested on the third book of the series. It is now that Kendras will rise and I can’t wait for it. As for this one, it’s quite worth reading it, with amazing scenes of battle and secret missions, the blood we’ve come to expect from the Scorpions, and a great deal of conspiracy and back-stabbing. Recommended!

Whiskey to Wine by B.A. Tortuga

Title: Whiskey to Wine

Series: Leaning N 03 / Dreamspun Desires 78

Author: B.A. Tortuga

Genre: Contemporary, Cowboys

Length: Novel (221 pages)

ISBN: 978-1-64080-771-6

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (19 March 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 4.5 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Love is hitting the slopes, and the competition is fierce.

It’s Gay Ski Week in Aspen, and blind sculptor Bleu Bridey and his ex-fiancé, Dan, are at the Leaning N Ranch to unveil Bleu’s latest commission.

Former Olympic snowboarder Ryan Shields is there too… and he’s Bleu’s true love who got away. Seeing Bleu again, Ryan remembers how they couldn’t get enough of each other in college.

Too bad it looks like Bleu is with Dan now, because Ryan would love to remind Bleu how good they were together, in and out of the sheets.

Between Ski Week parties, a bunch of exes, a private ski lesson, and one terrible accident that leaves Bleu stranded and Ryan in rescue mode, it’ll be a wonder if these two manage to survive, much less find a few seconds alone to remember how much love they have to keep them warm even in the worst of storms.

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: BA Tortuga is an author I’ve only recently (maybe about the past year) to come to fully appreciate, and now look forward to new books. Before that I either wasn’t really attracted to the blurbs or covers of Tortuga’s book. Now, maybe because I finally gave the author a chance, I really enjoy her books, particularly the cowboy/ranch setting books.

Whiskey to Wine is the third book in Tortuga’s Leaning N ranch. I really loved the two previous books in this series and so looked forward to seeing Bleu and Ryan’s story unfold. I was particularly interested because I do like a book where an MC has a physical challenge/disability because he can show the world (and his prospective lover) that despite being hard work, he is his own very capable man. In the case of this book Bleu has an autoimmune disease (I’m kinda of guessing Sjogren’s because I have a friend who has that and some of Bleu’s challenges are similar although my friend is not blind).

Even though this is a series, I do believe that it can be read and fully appreciated as a standalone book. However, the couples from the two previous books do feature prominently. So if you’re like me you’ll probably want to go back to their stories to find out about these guys either before or after you finish the present book.

Bleu Bridely and Ryan Shields are the MCs of this novel and back in college they were lovers. But Ryan got scared and broke Bleu’s heart. In fact, Ryan is a bit of dick although I could see that he had a lot of potential for change, I did dislike him for a time. Fortunately, his character did develop and grow along the way, to a lesser extent this was also true of Bleu as he got to know his former lover again.

Bleu is energy and creativity and totally unstoppable. I mean the guy is a blind sculptor. He has a passion and thirst for life which is stifled by well meaning exes who think that he should take it easy, especially with his health problems impacting on his life. Bleu is accompanied by his ex (and business associate) to the Leaning N Ranch in Aspen to help Bleu for the unveiling of his most recent commission.

It is here that Bleu runs into his college ex, Ryan, who is at Leaning N as a volunteer ski instructor for Gay Ski Week. Bleu is at first reticent when it comes to seeing Ryan again, can’t blame him really because Ryan left him because the thought of being with some who is disabled scared the crap out of him. Ryan had thought that being with Bleu would hold back his dreams, which he achieved since, as described in the blurb, he is a former Olympic snowboarder. The guys get to know each other and Ryan seems to realise how superficial he had been along the way, which leads into what is an extremely sweet and well developed romance.

Against the odds in the face of a man character I really could have disliked, I loved this book. This is a wonderful story about the one that got away and second chances where we see the MCs grow.
I’m hoping that Bleu’s ex, Dan, gets a story because there seems to be hidden depths there and it would be a shame not to develop the character further beyond the superficial, bossy businessman we got to see. In fact, there are a number of minor characters who I hope will get their HEA. I can’t wait for July when the next book in this series is released, although I know it’s different characters to the ones I just said I hope could get their own story.

As a side note, I’m also really enjoying the new cover designs for the Dreamspun Desires line, which switched over to this current style a few months ago. It certainly added to the appeal of the book and blurb. I like that this cover doesn’t have an image of a seeing eye dog or a guy wearing glasses, nothing that makes me say “oh, blind guy”. I find it refreshing and it suits Bleu’s determination to not let anything get in his way.

In Safe Hands by Victoria Sue

Title: In Safe Hands

Author: Victoria Sue

Genre: Mystery, Suspense

Length: Novel (210pgs)

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (March 19, 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: Former helicopter pilot Maverick Delgardo’s injuries ended his Air Force career, leaving him bitter and one drink away from becoming an alcoholic. When his sister asks for his help on a private protection case to babysit a disgraced pop star, Mav reluctantly agrees.

Deacon Daniels, onetime lead singer and idol to his teenage fans, saw his career and reputation ruined when a reporter’s exposé led to a devastating scandal. Without money or a job, a heartbroken Deacon has lost custody of his baby niece. And just when he thinks his life can’t get any worse, a stalker’s threatening messages escalate to murder.

Mav only agreed to one meeting, but his protective instincts kick in, along with an attraction to Deacon. When the body count increases, however, Mav is unsure he is up to the task of protecting Deacon from a killer. But it is too late for Mav to step away, now that he’s lost his heart, and he must find the strength to reassure Deacon and his niece that they are in safe hands no matter the cost.

ISBN-13: 978-1-64405-229-7

Product Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: I loved Mav and Deacon. Both characters are broken in different ways. But they ultimately help each other overcome their struggles. Mav is tough yet suffering from the traumatic event from his military days. Deacon has had his life turned upside down by malicious rumors and now on top of that a real stalker hell bent on destroying everything left of Deacon’s life.

Mav is hired to protect Deacon even though Mav has struggles of his own. The cops do not believe Deacon has a stalker until bodies start piling up and then they suspect him of the crimes until the stalker hits closer to home.

The story had me on the edge of my seat. I suspected the reason for the stalker early on but who the stalker was came as a shock. I love being surprised in a story.

The vivid descriptions of the murders are brutal in their intensity. There are tense situations between Deacon and his mom as well as between the stalker and his victims.

Fast paced with plenty of suspense, action, twists and turns to make for one amazing story to the end.

Fantastic read. Highly recommended.