Duty To The Crown by Rebecca Cohen (2nd Edition) *Retro Review*

Title: Duty to the Crown (2nd Edition)

Series: The Crofton Chronicles 02

Author: Rebecca Cohen

Genre: Historical, Elizabethan Era (1599/1600)

Length: Novel (210pgs)

ISBN: 978-1-63216-129-1

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (28th May 2014)

Heat Level: Explicit

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 4 ½ Hearts

Reviewer: Pixie

Blurb: Sebastian Hewel has never been happier. But his life playing the role of his twin sister Bronwyn, the wife of Anthony Redbourn, Earl of Crofton, is about to change. Rumors abound that Bronwyn is using witchcraft to enthrall her husband, and false evidence has been found. Practicing witchcraft is a crime that could have Bronwyn brought in for questioning by the sheriff, and that would reveal Sebastian and Anthony’s secret.

Together they must decide whether it is time to lay Bronwyn to rest. Anthony intends to ensure that whoever implicated Bronwyn pays for the treacherous deed. Whatever happens, Sebastian and Anthony must prepare to face an unknown future together.

A Timeless Dreams Title

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: This book is part of a series and must be read in order.

 Sebastian is still enjoying his role as Lady Bronwyn, the wife of Earl Anthony Crofton, but things start to become sticky when Anthony is asked by Queen Elizabeth to do his duty to the crown and seduce the whereabouts of a French noble from Marie, the nobles’ daughter. Anthony’s duty becomes difficult when Marie meets Sebastian and becomes charmed by him and then her brother, Nicholas, arrives only to fall under Bronwyn’s charm. Now, Sebastian has to charm the whereabouts from the siblings and Anthony has a taste of his own medicine. It is complicated further when Sebastian’s uncle insists that the farce ends. Just how are Sebastian and Anthony to cope with the pressure of pleasing a Queen, an interfering uncle, a suitor who becomes obsessed and bandits?

Ah an excellent second book of Elizabethan forbidden love with a dose of political intrigue. Sebastian is appalled when Anthony confides the Queen’s request (more like royal decree), that instructs Anthony to do whatever he has to in order to seduce the whereabouts of a French noble from the man’s daughter. Sebastian struggles with his jealousy and begins to doubt Anthony’s love for him, as Anthony seems to be enjoying the seduction just a bit too much. But, the tables become turned and not only does Sebastian become the focus of Marie’s attention, he also, in the guise of Bronwyn, becomes the focus of Nicholas, Marie’s brother. Anthony and Sebastian both struggle with the task that has been laid on their heads.  But, they soon discover that whittling out hidden nobles is not where the danger lies.

I really enjoyed this second story of The Crofton Chronicles. Picking up just over a year after the first book we see Anthony and Sebastian are still madly in love and devoted to each other. I will have to say that in this book I could see how much they care for each other and the connection between them was much stronger and more tangible.  The relationship between them is something to be envied and it is, by other women in the Elizabethan Court.

The storyline is really good.  I enjoyed delving into the political intrigue of the Elizabethan Court and seeing the effects on those who are involved and I really liked the twist near the end, it was an added bonus. I must admit I am intrigued as to what will happen to Anthony and Sebastian, and I am really hoping that there will be more to their story in the future.

I will recommend this to those who love historicals, forbidden love, hot sex, jealousy, duels, political intrigue, bandits and a very happy ending.

The Seer of Ice and Sky by Natsuya Uesugi Blog Tour, Character Interview, Excerpt and Giveaway!

Natsuya Uesugi - The Seer of Ice and Sky BANNER 1

Hi guys, we have Natsuya Uesugi stopping by today with his newest release The Seer of Ice and Sky, we have a fantastic exclusive excerpt and a brilliant giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤ ~Pixie~ *Review coming soon!

The Seer of Ice and Sky

(The Seer of Grace and Fire 02)

Natsuya Uesugi

Surviving the devastation of DarkFall, Timorn is now rightful King of Faerie. With evil lurking at the fringes between the kingdoms of the humans and the elves, the dark mage Dalannin travels to Dragonreise to forge an alliance with the Dragon King.

Timorn’s travelling party sets off on request from an elven emissary but dissent grows as the party passes through the human city of Ekhrine. As they stop at the Ecclesiastical University where the cleric Kabal translated The Legend of Arden prophesy, a demonic aura haunts their path.

Can Timorn forge an alliance with the dragons to ensure peace or will darkness drive a wedge between him and his magical twin Ethesian as they journey through the elven lands.

Transgender heroine.

.•.•.**❣️ Publisher | Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “The Seer of Ice and Sky by Natsuya Uesugi Blog Tour, Character Interview, Excerpt and Giveaway!”

Devil Next Door by Alex Jane Release Blast & Giveaway!

Alex Jane - Devil Next Door RBBanner-10

Hi guys! We have Alex Jane stopping by today with her new release Devil Next Door, we have a brilliant giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤ ~Pixie~

Devil Next Door

(Criminal Delights 02: Obsession)
by

Alex Jane

All Remy Harker wants is a fresh start.

Well, maybe that’s what he tells himself as he rolls up to his nice new house, in the nice little neighborhood, in a town where nobody knows his name.

He’s surrounded by friendly neighbors and a white picket fence. The ugly pink carpet might drive him to insanity, and he can’t stop wondering where the old lady who lived there before him died—but it’s nice.

And if he puts his mind to it, he can be anything—or anyone—he wants to be. He can be nice too.

At least, he thinks he can until he lays eyes on his next-door neighbor.

Luke Boucher is nice.

And quiet.

And perfect.

It doesn’t take long for Remy to insinuate himself into Luke’s life. A camera here, a break-in there.

It’s not really stalking if you love someone, is it?

But when Remy’s plan to make a good impression goes to hell, he ends up over his head in more ways than one. Then things aren’t quite so nice anymore.

It’s not really murder if you love someone, is it?

LOVING YOUR NEIGHBOR ISN’T SO EASY WHEN YOU’RE THE DEVIL NEXT DOOR.

Trigger warnings/enticements –  http://alexjane.info/love-but-darker/

.•.•.**❣️ Amazon US | Amazon UK ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “Devil Next Door by Alex Jane Release Blast & Giveaway!”

Starting From Zero by Lane Hayes Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Lane Hayes - Starting From Zero Blitz Banner

Hi guys, we have Lane Hayes stopping by today with her new release Starting From Zero, we have a great excerpt and a fantastic $25 Amazon GC giveaway, so check out the post and enter the giveaway!  ❤ ~Pixie~

Starting From Zero

(Starting From… 01)
by

Lane Hayes

Justin Cuevas is going through a rough patch. A broken relationship, a scandal, and the demise of his band have shaken the aspiring rock star’s confidence. Working two jobs and sleeping on his friend’s sofa isn’t ideal, but Justin isn’t ready to give up yet. With a little luck, he’s hoping to re-launch his music career in LA with his new band, Zero. The key is to stay focused, and not get distracted by his past…or the sexy songwriter he can’t get out of his head.

Gray Robertson has written dozens of hits and worked with some of the biggest names in the industry. But he’s never met anyone like Justin. The younger man is fiery, passionate, and smart. A powerful voice for a new generation. Other than an unforgettable one-night stand and a passion for music, the two men have nothing in common. Or do they? Justin knows the out-of-the-blue challenge to write a quintessential love song is a huge opportunity. And it’s the ultimate test for someone who’s doesn’t believe in happily ever after. When sparks fly, Justin and Gray realize they have a shot something special if they start from zero together. Maybe even love.

.•.•.**❣️ Amazon US | Amazon UK❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “Starting From Zero by Lane Hayes Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!”

Finding Finlay by Ruby Moone Blog Tour, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Ruby Moone - Finding Finlay RTBANNER-3

Hi guys! We have Ruby Moone stopping by today with the tour for her new release Finding Finley, we have a great excerpt and a brilliant giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤ ~Pixie~ p.s. keep an eye out for Shorty’s review coming soon!

Finding Finley

(MC Securities 02)
by

Ruby Moone

Aaron Baker has a problem. His online clothing company is under attack. Whilst MC Securities tackle the breaches in security, he asks for an agent to pose as his fake boyfriend. He doesn’t bargain for getting a snarky, ex-marine with sad, blue eyes and submissive tendencies.

Dumped by his boyfriend, Finlay Masters concludes that the best, and safest, place for him is to return to the closet. Kicked out by his parents as a kid for being gay, closeted in the army for fifteen years, body wrecked by an explosion that cost him his job, he isn’t the best bet for any kind of relationship. Even a fake one.

As the investigation mounts, Aaron wants more, but Finn has no faith in love, never dared need anyone. Aaron talks of how lucky he is to find him, but Finn knows if he is to have a chance at a relationship at all, he needs to find himself.

Each book in the MC Securities Series can be read as standalone.

.•.•.**❣️ Amazon US | Amazon UK ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “Finding Finlay by Ruby Moone Blog Tour, Excerpt & Giveaway!”

All the Way to Shore by CJane Elliot ~ Audio Review

Title: All the Way to Shore

Series: Stories from the Shore 01

Author: CJane Elliot

Narrator: Tim McKiernan

Genre: Contemporary

Length: 5 hrs, 55 mins

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (19th April 2018)

Heat Level: Explicit

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 3.5 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Jonathan Vallen has never felt good enough. A gentle musician who loves to garden, he’s woe-fully unsuited to running Vallen Industries, the family business. When his father hires a hotshot executive, Marco Pellegrini, to save the company, Jonathan moves away and leaves his humilia-tion behind. A year later and 40 pounds lighter, Jonathan runs into Marco on an LGBT cruise. Marco doesn’t recognize him, the sparks fly, and Jonathan pretends to be someone else for the week – Jonah Rutledge – someone good enough to be loved.

Marco Pellegrini has always been driven. He rose from poverty to the pinnacle of business suc-cess, and he’ll do anything to protect his reputation – including hiding his bisexuality. Having saved Vallen Industries, he’s weary of the rat race and ready for a more meaningful life. When Marco meets his soul mate for that new life – Jonah Rutledge – on an LGBT cruise, he prepares to stop hiding and start living.

Back on land, the romance crashes when Marco discovers his perfect man is not only a lie but the son of his boss, Frederick Vallen. Jonathan resolves to win Marco back, but Frederick takes vengeful action. Jonathan and Marco must battle their own fears as well as Frederick’s chal-lenge to get to the future that awaits them on the horizon.

Purchase Link: Audible US | Audible UK | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: All the Way to Shore is the first book in CJane Elliot’s series Stories from the Shore. CJane Elliot is a totally new author to me, so I had no idea what to expect. Likewise, Tim McKiernan is a totally new narrator for me. It felt as though I went into this audio book double blind.

Jonathan Vallen is a man drowning in career that has been forced upon him after the death of his beloved brother. Jonathan is a sweet musician who is too gentle for the corporate world. So when his father brings in a man to take over and get the company back into profit, Jonathan decides that he has be true to himself. He doesn’t have a whole lot of confidence but he knows what he likes and he knows what he’s good at. He leaves his life behind, moves to Florida and reinvents himself, with his cousin as his main point of contact with the world. He’s happy enough but a couple years down the track the same cousin convinces Jonathan to go on a gay cruise. This is where he sees Marco Pellegrini, the man who took over at his family’s company.

Marco Pellegrini isn’t totally happy with life as he wraps up his current job. Jonathan Vallen isn’t on his radar since the man had fled so soon after Marco had arrived. So when he and his very straight sister get away on a gay cruise he doesn’t realise the guy he meets is the transformed Jonathan Vallen. Especially after the man he meets is introduced to him by the man’s cousin as Jonah.

The two men have a whirlwind affair but everything changes as soon as they get home and the unwitting deception is revealed. Now the men have to sort out their feelings and deal with the fall out from Jonathan’s family. Jonathan fell in love and he isn’t about to give up without a fight – he is a changed man and its because of him that things can change.

This was a great audio experience with an enjoyable story. The only thing I really wasn’t into was the whole flashback (well, flash forwards, really) used to set up the start of each section of the book. It’s a personal preference thing I suppose, but it’s one of those things where I felt that the storm of emotions that happen throughout the story is lessened by telling the reader what has happened. I feel that knowing what happened meant that the impact as we went back to when the events unfolded took away from the journey that the characters went on through the chapters.

Despite this, I do look forward to the second book, especially since after being one of the heroes of this story, Jonathan’s cousin gets his own HEA.

Interpretation by Catherine Lievens

Title: Interpretation

Series: Lost in Translation 02

Author: Catherine Lievens

Genre: Contemporary, Mystery

Length: Novella (171 Pages)

Publisher: eXtasy Books (November 2, 2018)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: Dorran is finally getting over finding a dead body, getting shot, and having to share his apartment with a ghost. So of course, things start going wonky. Dorran and Eli’s relationship hits a rough patch when Eli refused to let Dorran see his apartment, Francis the ghost is getting cheekier and stronger, and even worse, Dorran’s brother is arrested for killing his pregnant girlfriend. Dorran has no intention of sticking his nose into the investigation—except that’s exactly what he ends up doing.

The sheriff in charge of the investigation has already pegged Chris as guilty, and he’s not going to look any further, so it’s not Dorran’s fault if he has to do the man’s job for him, right? With a recalcitrant Eli and some help from Francis, Dorran starts looking for the real murderer. What’s the sheriff hiding? And what on earth is happening with Francis suddenly being visible?

Chris’ life is in danger, and Dorran isn’t going to let his brother pay for a crime he didn’t commit.

ISBN: 978-1-4874-2252-3

Product Link: eXtasy Books | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Francis saves the day!! Dorran and Eli are having a few troubles in their relationship, but the love is going strong. Eli doesn’t want to bring Dorran over to is place and Dorran is trying to figure out what he is hiding from him. Secrets never go the way you want to, but wait till you find out what he is hiding. Trust me you will laugh your ass off. When Chris calls and tells Dorran that he is in big trouble, as in murder, well you can guess Dorran runs to help. Of course you can guess who tags along. Francis saves the day!! I will let you figure out that part.

I will say that I pretty much knew who the killer was, even without Francis’ help. However as always it was a pretty amazing story. It caught my attention and had me sitting on the edge of my seat the whole entire time. I absolutely love Francis, as you can probably guess. Ghost just keep me smiling. Now for a bit there I was ready to deck Eli, but once I found his secret, I basically called him a old softy. This story gives you action, danger and some fun hot sexy times with a bit of touchy feely from a ghost. I wonder if he does watch them when they are getting good.

I had a blast reading this and can not wait to get my hands on the next book. This is one of those books that will be read more than once. And I can guarantee that you will be enchanted also. I would definitely recommend it.

Feel by A.M. Arthur

Title: Feel

Series: Breaking Free 06

Author: A.M. Arthur

Genre: Alternative Universe, Omegaverse, MPreg

Length: Novel (295pgs)

Publisher: Briggs-King Books (August 30, 2018)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: Single omegin Brogan Dale is jealous of the loving, stable relationships his omega friends have with their alpha mates. For years, he’s longed to find his own bondmate and create a family, but that hasn’t been in the cards. Just when he’s determined to take the first alpha who’ll provide for himself and his young son Peyton, Brogan scents him across a crowded coffee shop. Too bad his bondmate is the unstable alpha who nearly killed Brogan’s best friend last year.

Mikel Tovey is taking it one day at a time, adjusting to life on his own, away from the oppression and abuse of his cruel sire. All he wants is to complete his probation, make sure his omegin and brothers are safe, and find a way to live with all the mistakes he’s made. When he scents his omega bondmate, Mikel is initially terrified of the older omegin and his adorable toddler. But Brogan is handsome, kind, and Mikel is completely enamored of little Peyton.

With his bondmate in his sights, Brogan does everything in his power to prove Mikel can be a good alpha, a good mate, and a fantastic father to Peyton. But when Brogan’s past comes roaring into his present and puts Peyton’s future at risk, Mikel’s resolve is shaken. He wants to love and support his omega during this crisis, but he doesn’t know how. With Brogan surrounded by friends and chosen family who love him, he doesn’t need Mikel’s insecurities weighing him down, too—but Brogan has found his mate, and he isn’t letting Mikel walk away without a fight.

This time, Brogan has too much to lose…

NOTE: This is a non-shifter Omegaverse story with alpha/omega/beta dynamics, heats, knotting, and mpreg. In this world, omegas are second-class citizens with few civil rights and almost no protections under the law—although times are changing for the better. Trigger warnings for physical, emotional, and sexual abuse. This series is best read in numerical order.

ISBN: B07GTVVKZH

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: This is Brogan and Mikhail’s story. I liked that the roles were reversed in this addition. We see an alpha who was abused and is unsure of himself after his past actions. Brogan is an omega who survived the fight ring and is the aggressor in this one. Mikhail does everything he can to atone for his mistakes as Brogan add his support and understanding.

It’s not easy for these two as the story progresses but by being there for each other they persevere. More is done about taking down more members of the fight club so that no other omega is taken and abused for the amusement of others.

I really enjoyed the entire book.

Fantastic read and addition.

The Actor & The Earl by Rebecca Cohen (2nd Edition) *Retro Review*

Title: The Actor and The Earl

Series: The Crofton Chronicles 01

Author: Rebecca Cohen

Genre: Historical, Elizabethan Era (1598/1599)

Length: Novel (216pgs)

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (9th May 2014)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 3 ½ Hearts

Reviewer: Pixie

Blurb: Elizabethan actor Sebastian Hewel takes his bow at the proscenium only to embark on the role of a lifetime. When his twin sister, Bronwyn, reneges on the arrangement to marry Earl Anthony Crofton, Sebastian reluctantly takes her place. At nineteen, Sebastian knows his days as a leading lady are numbered, but with this last performance, he hopes to restore his family’s name and pay off his late father’s debts. Never mind the danger of losing his head should he be discovered.

He didn’t expect Anthony to be so charming and alluring—not to mention shrewd. While he applauds Sebastian’s plan, Anthony offers a mutually beneficial arrangement instead. Sebastian will need every drop of talent he has to survive with both his head and his heart intact, because this is the best part he’s ever had.

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: Sebastian is an actor who is called home by his cousin to perform the role of his life time. Sebastian’s sister has eloped, but she was due to marry an Earl. Now, due to family debts, Sebastian has to fill the role of blushing bride. Anthony is far from hoodwinked and offers a solution that benefits both of them. Now, they just have to fool the nobility and maybe they will both keep their heads.

This is an interesting story of Elizabethan England and the illicit marriage of an Actor and an Earl. Sebastian loves acting, but just wishes he could get more masculine roles. Now, he is offered the role of a lifetime after his sister elopes, but it is a role that could cost him his head. But, he never suspected it would also cost him his heart. Anthony is a man, who will take his pleasure where he can, discovering his future brother-in-law will be his wife, he uses it to his advantage. But, the marriage affects him more than he thought and his scandalous days are numbered.

The characters in this book are very interesting with both Sebastian and Anthony acting like men of their times. Although, at times Sebastian had to act like a woman of their time. Anthony wasn’t a perfect husband, although he did try. Changing a way of life was hard for him and he messed up several times with Sebastian. Sebastian made for a good wife, but he was a great man and the way he tried to stick to his guns with Anthony was quite impressive. The setting and time frame were well done with some great descriptions of the theatres of the time period.

I must admit to not warming up to the characters all that much, Sebastian and Anthony seemed to have no real connection between them and I didn’t feel as though they really got emotionally involved with each other. It felt more like convenience than any real attraction especially from Anthony, and even later it still felt like there was a distance between them even after they declared their love. Their sex life was hot though and that was the only time I felt a real connection between them. The best part for me, was when Anthony starting fighting for their relationship and began to court Sebastian in earnest.

I will recommend this to those who love historicals, those who love masquerades, fighting for love and a happy ending.

Kennard’s Story by N.R. Walker

Title: Kennard’s Story

Series: Cronin’s Key 04

Author: N.R. Walker

Genre: Paranormal

Length: Novella (156pgs)

Publisher: N.R. Walker (January 26, 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: Kennard and Stas have been enjoying being newly bonded mates, hidden away for the last six months in Stas’ cabin, deep in the forests of Northern Russia. When they get a visit from Alec, Cronin, Eiji, and Jodis, Kennard and Stas decide to return to London where they get news of a supernatural disturbance in India.

Excited for a new adventure, the band of friends embark on a journey like they’ve never seen before. Following a trail of snakes and serpents, they slip through gates into timeless dimensions all over the world, leaving them without their vampire powers. Even Alec is powerless as they follow a trail of gates and doorways to their final destination.

But the bad guy isn’t who they think it is, and Kennard will need to draw on his past to save their future. Because history is never what it seems…

ISBN: B07N5G1ZVP

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: After a period of getting to know one another newly mated Kennard and Stas are asked to help Alec and company hunt down a disturbance in India. I loved this story.

Action, adventure, romance, tense situations make for a superb read that had me on the edge of my seat. The story flowed smoothly as the group went from scene to scene in their quest to stop the bad guy from his evil plans. Fascinating addition.

Fantastic read.

Against All Odds by Cree Storm & Maggie Walsh

Title: Against All Odds

Series: Kaliss 03

Author: Cree Storm & Maggie Walsh

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Ménage

Length: Novella (154 pgs)

Publisher: Cree Storm & Maggie Walsh (February 26, 2019)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: When a body drops from the ceiling, Sabien knows that things at his old coven are worse than he thought and they need to figure out what’s going on before more people die. He doesn’t have time to deal with mating issues right now. That is until Helio decides to place himself in danger. Now Jael and Sabien must learn to work together as mates and soldiers because if they don’t Helio could die.

ISBN: B07P91QKRY

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each Book in the Kaliss collection features a new romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters I would recommend reading them in sequential order. This story is connected to the Eternal Flames and the Eternal Flames Maddox series.

Jael and Sabien are mates which should be celebrated however Sabien won’t even acknowledge it. However Sabien has his reasons for putting it all on hold. That is until Helio shows up and Jael sees the reaction and reacts. The little dragon finds an old friend and all hell breaks loose when Helio goes to all links to find the rest of them. It puts him in danger and his mates are going to do all they can to keep him safe. When a dead body drops from the ceiling it places many questions coming, but the surprise will shock them all.

Fascinating as always and so damn entertaining. I love how new characters for futures series keeps showing up and promising a good time. Action packed, excitement overload, danger filled and lets not forget some very hot sexy times are just a bit of what you get in this story. The characters are charming, feisty and I love reading their story. It caught my attention from the start and kept it all the way to the end.

I had a blast reading this and can’t wait to get my hands on the next story. I can guarantee that this is one of those stories that will be read many times over. I would definitely recommend this book.

Under His Protection by LaQuette

Title: Under His Protection

Series: Dreamspun Desires 80

Author: LaQuette

Genre: Contemporary

Length: Novel (250 pages)

ISBN: 978-1-64080-558-3

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (16 April 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: They can escape their enemies, but not the desire between them.

Prosecutor Camden Warren is on the fast track to professional nirvana. With his charm, his sharp legal mind, and his father as chief judge in the highest court in NY, he can’t fail. Nothing can derail his rise to the top… until an attempt on his life forces him to accept the help of a man he walked out on five years ago.

Wounded in the line of duty, Lieutenant Elijah Stephenson wants to ride his new desk job until retirement—not take a glorified babysitting gig with more risk than it’s worth… especially not protecting the entitled lawyer who disappeared after the best sex of their lives.

The threat against Camden’s life is real, but their passion for each other might prove the greatest danger they’ve yet to face.

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: Under His Protection is a novel by LaQuette published as part of the Dreamspun Desires line. I hadn’t known what to expect because I haven’t heard of the author.

Alright, this is going to sound completely crazy. So many authors publish under assumed names for some crazy reason single name pseudonyms make me weary. I know it ridiculous, but I think after a number of bad book experiences I had to force myself into this. However, I thoroughly enjoyed Under His Protection – I honestly thought I would based on the blurb, I just had to get over this one mental hurdle.

I find the themes, including interracial relationships, really strong in this book. I love how it shows that love doesn’t know any of the barriers that society and culture have previously put up, including barriers towards homosexual relationships. I really loved this aspect of the book. Although I always have trouble with swallowing the whole trust fund kids who have zero control over their lives and careers because of overzealous and manipulative parents, I found this really complemented the whole thing.

The story is about Lieutenant Elijah Stone of the NYPD and is the black cop who comes from a well-rounded, pretty much awesome blue-collar family. I rarely mention covers but the cover model that represents Eli is completely mesmerising. Five years ago, he thought that he had found a man that he could fall in love with, but he ran scared and so Eli has focused on his career ever since. He has now made it the rank of Lieutenant, although just before he could take his new assignment, he was badly injured in the line duty, having left him in a coma and hanging onto life. Returning to work means that he is given one more assignment to take before taking up his new post, he has to protect the man that almost had the chance to break his heart.

Camden Warren, assistant district attorney and is living the life and political aspirations that his father has mapped since the time Camden was born. Despite having been forced into his career, Cam does enjoy his job but he has come to resent that he can’t live his own life, especially when being in such close proximity to Eli means that it’s so damn easy for him to let his defences down. A death threat and a car bomb from a crazy cult has sent Eli back into his life five years after they had been set up on a blind date by a mutual friend, the district attorney. Eli has a plan to keep Cam out of the way, hidden at Eli’s own family home, where the men are now in a situation where they need to communicate and actually understand each other. Communication is vital to the story because it is clear that between their individual brushes with death, these guys are made for each other but Cam needs to figure out how to deal with his manipulative father.

In the end, this is a story of love conquers all. I think the interracial aspect will appeal to many, although I can’t say I ever really picture race when it comes to reading unless pointed out to me in the way that I don’t think it matters what the colour of another person’s skin is, I think bringing to the forefront of a book is necessary. However, mostly people that love second chance at love and the action/suspense/intensity that comes from a cop who will do anything to protect the man he loves, will certainly love this book.

Anthony, Earl Of Crofton by Rebecca Cohen Cover Reveal & Giveaway!

Rebecca Cohen - Anthony, Earl Of Crofton CRBANNER-8

Hi guys! We have Rebecca Cohen stopping by today with the lovely cover to her upcoming release Anthony, Earl of Crofton, we have a brilliant giveaway so check out the cover and enter the giveaway! ❤ ~Pixie~

Anthony, Earl of Crofton

by

Rebecca Cohen

A tale set in Stuart England, where the king’s life depends on his most loyal of subjects.

Anthony Redbourn, Earl of Crofton, delights in his reputation as a charming rogue. Life is never quiet at the court of King James I, especially with his good friend and secret lover, Sebastian Hewel, by his side. As an actor with the celebrated King’s Men, Sebastian has his own admirers, but neither man has eyes for anyone else.

When a plot against His Majesty is uncovered it threatens Anthony and Sebastian’s charmed lives, and they are dragged into the political intrigue and the race to save the king from danger. Fear that a traitor is linked to the King’s Men leaves Sebastian and Anthony with no choice but to stage a very public dissolution of their friendship, so Anthony can be free to be the patron of a new rising actor, and Sebastian can be the prodigy of another noble.

It is a dangerous game they are playing to expose the plotters and still find a way to meet in secret, as Anthony is adamant that they will not sacrifice the love they have fought so hard to win. They will do whatever it takes to protect the king’s life, and their commitment to each other.

Release date: 25th April 2019
Pre-order:
.•.•.**
❣️ Amazon US | Amazon UK ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “Anthony, Earl Of Crofton by Rebecca Cohen Cover Reveal & Giveaway!”

Cowboy in the Crosshairs by B.A. Tortuga ~ Audio Review

Title: Cowboy in the Crosshairs

Series: Dreamspun Desires 53 / Turquoise, New Mexico 01

Author: B.A. Tortuga

Narrator: Dorian Bane

Genre: Contemporary, Cowboys

Length: 6 hrs, 23 mins

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (16th August 2018)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Once upon a time, a prince lived in a magical kingdom called Turquoise, New Mexico.

Well, really, TJ is a small-town police chief. Every Friday, he holds court in the diner with the local holy roller, the art colonists, and the horsey people. But the Benes, who own the rodeo company, keep to themselves. TJ knows because he was once hot and heavy with the oldest Bene son.

When Wacey Bene gets trampled by a remuda and comes home to heal, he’s none too happy to run into TJ or his two little boys and their momma. The story might end there – if it wasn’t for some pesky bastard trying to kill Wacey.

The law steps in, and the townsfolk are cross about somebody messing with one of their own.

But once the bad guy is put away, can TJ and Wacey make their place in this wild and eccentric town a permanent one?

Purchase Link: Audible US | Audible UK | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: Cowboy in the Crosshairs is the first book a new series called Turquoise, New Mexico by BA Tortuga. I’m a fan of Tortuga’s writing, especially their books with cowboys because cowboys are hot and awesome. But I wouldn’t have thought that without enjoying Tortuga’s writing style, which feel simple and accessible, but at the same time the plotlines are interesting.

The story is about cowboy Wacey Bene. He’s been away from his family’s ranch on the rodeo circuit for ten years after having his heart broken when he was barely out of high school. The boy that broke his heart was TJ. He is now the police chief, but ten years before he was a confused young man who was scared of coming out of the closet and somewhere along the way in the past ten years also decided that he needed to marry a woman so he could have a family. TJ now has two cute little boys and an ex-wife he is good friends with, despite divorcing because he finally was able to come out of the closet to her. These guys need to get over past hurts, as well as TJ needing to help Wacey avoid being injured or killed by some mystery person.

The narration for this audio is by Dorian Bane. I have to admit, I absolutely adore Bane’s voice. He has one of those rich and husky voices that are often spoken of in romances as the type that would make a lady (or anyone) swoon. His voice is well suited to books with rough, tough and ready men – i.e. cowboys and cops and whatnot. Luckily for us, in this book we get both a cowboy and a cop. Interestingly, probably because of the tone and emotion that Bane was able to inject into the story I find that I by far preferred the audio to reading this book and I was less inclined to be bothered by the points that had annoyed me in the original reading. Mostly at the time I had been annoyed with how Wacey and TJ treated each other at the start and I didn’t feel that I got enough plot development as to how they were able to go to a loving relationship. I suppose that is still true, but as I said I was merely less annoyed by this hole in the plot.

Overall, an enjoyable story to pass some time, particularly for those that have a weakness for cowboys and cops.

A King’s Oath by Jude Marquez

Title: A King’s Oath

Series: The Royal Houses of Sea and Snow 02

Author: Jude Marquez

Genre: Historical Fantasy, Medieval

Length: Novel (197pgs)

Publisher: Jude Marquez (March 4, 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: With so few allies and no clear choices, Eamon and Alik are left with only one possible chance to regain their standing.

They must leave the Ataton Kingdom and return to Grayhaven to raise an army.

For Alik, going home was the last thing he ever wanted.

For Eamon, leaving home feels like a betrayal.

But Grayhaven has more secrets and lies than either man could imagine. While they both vow to honor and obey each other, is that possible while they live in a court that thrives on lies and deceit? Will they be able to hold onto the one thing they hold dear?

And when the unthinkable happens and an unexpected visitor returns, is it a signal of hope? Or one of continued loss?

A King’s Oath is the second book in The Royal Houses of Sea and Snow. Expect violence, romance, and a fierce love between two men that will bring the heat level up to a 10!

ISBN: B07PHMMDMQ

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: In this sequel to A Prince’s Duty Alik and Eamon travel to Alik’s home after the brutal attack in the previous book. All is not well in Alik’s kingdom as though who want power try to attempt to take control by any means necessary as plans are hatched and set in motion all the while Eamon adjust to his new life by taking charge of the army and setting things straight.

I love this series. So many things happen that had me on the edge of my seat. I was expecting plans to be made for going after those that hurt both Eamon and Alik’s family and I can not wait for that to happen in all it’s bloody purpose. Though Eamon still struggles with the loss of his brother and friends he strives to make sure he avenges their deaths.

Wonderful story full of emotions, betrayal and twists and turns that I never saw coming.

Fantastic read and highly recommended.

Brandon by Catherine Lievens

Title: Brandon

Series: Wyoming Shifters: 12 Years Later 07

Author: Catherine Lievens

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Length: Novella (121 Pages)

Publisher: eXtasy Books (March 29, 2019)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: Brandon has all the problems eighteen-year-old guys have—an overbearing mother, a little brother he could do without, and two slightly pushy best friends. When he goes dancing one night, he doesn’t expect to find himself with more problems—and a mate.

Maddox is a loner, and he likes it. He trusts his numerous pets more than most humans, but some people don’t allow him to push them away, like Asher, his coworker and best friend. Asher is the only reason Maddox finds himself dragged to the club even though he hates crowds and dancing. And when he steps into the bathroom and realizes something is happening in one of the stalls, the evening takes a turn for the worse. Someone drugged his mate and assaulted him.

Brandon knows he was lucky Maddox stepped in when he did, but when the man who drugged him escapes before being taken to the council jail, he expects things to go south. He’s not sure why Maddox offers him to stay at his house, since he clearly loves living alone, but he’s not about to say no to the possibility of getting to know his mate better, even though Maddox keeps him at arm’s length.

But the man who drugged Brandon is on the run, and he’s coming for Brandon. Will Maddox be able to keep his mate safe—even from himself? Or will he break Brandon’s heart before losing him?

ISBN: 978-1-4874-2416-9

Product Link: eXtasy Books | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each book in the Wyoming Shifters: 12 Years Later collection features a different romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc and crossover characters, I would recommend reading the series in sequential order. This series is branched off from Whitedell Pride, Gillham Pack, and Council Enforcers. For the full impact I would start with book one in the Whitedell Pride series.

Brandon has a very over protective mother who pretty much acts like a crazy nancy around him. When he is drugged and attacked he is rescued by his mate, but his mother needs a Valium. When the man escapes from transport, Brandon must go into hiding. Guess who he gets to hide out with.

Maddox was fifteen when his parents kicked him out for being gay and it seemed to just stick with him. He trusted no one to stick around so other than a couple of friends, well lets just say he has some fuzzy babies that are adorable. When he comes across his mate getting attacked he does what any mate will do, but he just has no clue what else to do about it.

I will admit that I am not really a big fan of this particular series but only because it comes off more like a youth book than the other three series. The characters seem more weak and needy than their parents. Which would make sense if it was for the youth readers. There is a mention of sex but you don’t really get any sexy times in the story. However other than my issues with it, this one had action, danger, a twist that you wouldn’t expect and some really cute cuddles. It is perfect for when you are just needing a good book to read. I actually think I liked Brandon more than Maddox though. However his love of animals is a big hit for Maddox. Always loved a man with an animal.

I enjoyed it quite a bit and can’t wait to see what the next book has in it. It is one of those series that will be read many times over.

The Soldier’s Mate by C.W. Gray

Title: The Soldier’s Mate

Series: Blue Solace 03

Author: C.W. Gray

Genre: Science Fiction, Space Opera

Length: Novel (306pgs)

Publisher: C.W. Gray (January 11, 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Blurb: Morgan Murray is an easy, fun-loving guy. He excels at being a soldier, but never wanted more out of life. Somehow, he ends up in a position of authority on Dru’s new ship, the Blue Sparrow. Now he has to deal with what he dreads most. Responsibilities. Dru and her crew are given the task of finding Wyatt Morrick and telling him about his father’s death. Along the way, Morgan soon learns that responsibility can be painful, difficult, and frightening. It can also lead to something very special.

Dr. Wyatt Morrick is in trouble. Big trouble. He and his medical crew are stuck on a planet under attack. He may not be a soldier, but he has patients and friends to worry about. With very few supplies left, something has to give for them to survive. The whole planet’s future is at stake and he is stuck hiding in a cave.

When Morgan saves Wyatt and his friends, the two men are given a gift, each other. Their love can’t stop the Concord, though, and someone has to. Morgan has to grow and accept his responsibilities, and Wyatt has to move on from his father’s death. That death just happens to be a little more complicated then Wyatt expected.

Author’s Note: 55,000+ words. This is a m/m love story with no angst and no cheating, just a HEA. There is lots of action, sex, mpreg, and a few potty mouths involved in the story. 18+ readers only, please. It is also the third book in a series that is best read in order. Read “The Mercenary’s Mate,” and “The General’s Mate” first!

ISBN: B07M7Y9WT5

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: So much happens in this story as Wyatt and Morgan come to terms with different things going on their lives. There are twists and turns around every corner as you traverse through this exciting story. Many characters make an appearance as book progresses.

I liked that we found out what happened to Morgan. Trying to fend off attacks while getting closer is no easy feat for Morgan and Wyatt. I liked the added details into both men.

Entertaining and fascinating. Great read.

An Arranged Mating by Jane Wallace-Knight

Title: An Arranged Mating

Author: Jane Wallace-Knight

Genre: Paranormal

Length: Novella (126 pages)

Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand, Inc. (July 12, 2018)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Blurb: Hunter White left home as soon as he was able. Coming back to take over as alpha, Hunter learned of the serious debt his father had left the pack with. Desperate to save them, Hunter entered into a deal with a powerful vampire. The nest leader would pay off all the pack’s debts, on one condition—Hunter had to take a vampire for a mate.

Vampire Aeron Lyons had been in some serious scrapes during his unnaturally long life, but nothing came close to this. Being given to an alpha werewolf, like he was some sort of bargaining chip, wasn’t what Aeron wanted for his life, but he wasn’t dumb enough to say no to a man like Ken Roberts.

Resigning himself to join a pack who already dislikes him on principal, Aeron has no idea how rocky the road ahead will be or how he’s going to spend the rest of his life with a man who hates him.

ISBN: 978-1-64243-308-1

Product Link: Siren-BookStrand | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Hunter was pretty much driven from his home what with his father’s drinking. He never really wanted to go back, that is until his dad passed on. To bad he came back to a pack that was getting ready to loose it all. He took a deal with the devil for help, but in turn it meant he had to mate an enemy of the pack. He was to mate a vampire.

Aeron’s life was pretty much like Hunters, but his was his mother. His mother was an addict and it cost her her future. He had given up everything to have his mother in a care home and it meant he owed his leader. He just hadn’t expected to find out that he was to be bargained off to an wolf.

Neither are going to expect what they find out. I am never a fan of stories that give you a good book only to find out that it is just going to be that one book. This story had so much potential to be a series and it isn’t going to be. I felt a little let down with it. I did like Aeron quite a bit and his attitude has always been great. Hunter was an ass to the poor guy but was glad to see that it changed. However that being said, it moved faster than I thought it should have. Then the action was like one page and it was over.

The story needed more depth to it to make it truly rock. More substance in it to make it a top story. It came off very rushed and that was another let down. This story was damn good but it could have been better. However I can see myself reading it once more.

Sinister Games by Katze Snow

Title: Sinister Games

Series: Bloodstream 02

Author: Katze Snow

Genre: Fantasy, Horror, Vampires

Length: Novel (282pgs)

Publisher: Katze Snow (October 31, 2018)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 3 1/2 Hearts

Blurb: When Vincent sold himself to a vampire, he did not expect to become the slave of Maddox Caine. Now struggling to accept the feelings of passion he’s grown toward his master, he’s agreed to follow Maddox into a war he never knew existed. This is what he’s been waiting for: to fight, to avenge, and to win. But what happens when another vampire threatens to put Vincent’s heart, not just his loyalties, to the test?

Emory Hudson was never meant to live past childhood. His uncle managed to save his life at every turn, but now Emory finds himself alone, on the desert, with an enemy claiming to be his ally. They both seek the one thing that can be fatal to a First Born vampire. Paired with this unexpected accomplice, Emory scours the Wastelands in search of the poisonous flower. No matter what the sacrifice, he will kill the Governor of Sanctuary Hope and save his uncle. It’s the least he can do.

In this depraved and desolate world, can Vincent learn to see that there is more to vampires than an insatiable lust for blood? And will Emory free his uncle before the war divides them forever?

WARNING: This world is a treacherous place. Creatures have evolved into unforeseen habitats, and beyond the elusive Sanctuary Cities, human survivors have been reduced to nothing more than bloodthirsty maniacs. It is not for the faint-hearted and due to the extreme level of high heat, it is for mature audiences only. This series will only get darker and better.

ISBN: B07JQYLD5F

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: I love all types of characters but I believe I have found a character I absolutely despise as a MC and that is Maddox. There is no redemption for this vampire in my eyes. My heart is breaking that Vincent seems to have Stockholm syndrome where Maddox is concerned and believes he must endure Maddox treatment as a way to save his people. Enough about Maddox lets move on.

There is Cerebus, who I am on the fence about as I do not know enough about to say one way or another whether I like him or not. Emory meets Nick but is wary of him and I do not blame him with everything he has been through. There is a war brewing on the horizon and things are being planned as allies are being made.

I do like this series but Maddox is a bit much for me. I do not like him whatsoever. I cannot imagine him having any feelings for anyone other than his own wants and needs. I was hoping he would change in this story but alas he has not.

I am curious as to what the war will bring and who all will be involved in the battle if it comes to that.

Don’t Fear the (Not Really Grim) Reaper by Carol Cummings

Title: Don’t Fear the (Not Really Grim) Reaper

Author: Carole Cummings

Genre: Paranormal, Angels & Demons

Length: Novella (62 pages)

ISBN: 978-1-64080-679-5

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (11 Jan 2019)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖 3 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: When unassuming college student Emery Sutton wakes up in the morgue, it takes him a few minutes to remember he has magic (superpowers, damn it!) and free himself from the refrigerated drawer. And the body bag. (God.) It doesn’t take long, though, for him to remember the hot guy with wings he ran into just before a city bus ran into him.

Junior Reaper John must explain to his supervisor how his first solo assignment went so wrong. All he knows is that he happened upon Emery quite by accident, that Emery saw John when he shouldn’t have been able to, and when they accidentally touched, a bus came out of nowhere and plowed Emery under. (John really does feel bad about that.)

Hot angels, annoying demons, hijinks, absurdity, drunk siblings, a dash of silly romance, an inordinate attachment to wings, and a highly disorganized bid for world domination—Don’t Fear the (Not Really Grim) Reaper follows Emery and John down the rabbit hole where they find that moms are scarier than demons from hell, a goat is not a puppy no matter what Emery’s sister says, and awkward romance can happen anywhere.

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: Carole Cummings is an author that I’ve heard of and until I went through my book files, I could have sworn I have read something by her in the past. I didn’t really know what to expect from this one. However, reading the blurb I thought that it would be a really fun, quick read with the possibility of angels and demons and all in a package that doesn’t seem to take itself seriously. Which, is exactly what I got.

Emery is a mostly normal college guy who has a penchant for getting into trouble because of the “superpowers” he’s had since he was a kid. His parents have shielded him for the most part and that has meant that he hasn’t crossed the radar of anyone magical. That all changes when Emery encounters Junior Reaper, John.

John is fresh out of training and starting his career in the afterlife as a reaper. John was born and died a human, he doesn’t remember much and he isn’t meant to, but the afterlife presents him with the chance to become a reaper, helping the souls of dying. His encounter with Emery has Emery waking up very much alive in a hospital morgue. As for John, he is in a whole world trouble as the angels and demons quickly find out what has been hiding on earth.

I’m not sure what to feel about this book. There is a little bit of romance, because Emery and John are attracted to each other, but this is not something overly explored in the story. It is more the ending point for their possibility of a HEA. I think on the whole that is ok as there is a lot more to unpack. Yet the downside to that is I think that there was too much goofing off between characters, which made me impatient as it just felt like filler for the story and so other ends of the story wrapped up quickly within all the chatting. It is a shame because Emery’s character really appealed to me. His pop culture references were also right up my alley – Firefly, Doctor Who, Star Wars and Star Trek. The biggest problem in the end was that I just feeling underwhelmed by the whole thing.