Checkmate Ever After by Lex Chase, 2nd edition

o-checkmate-ever-afterTitle: Checkmate Ever After, 2nd edition
Series: Checkmate, #1 – #4
Author: Lex Chase
Genre: Fantasy
Length: Novel (314 pages)
Publisher: DSP Publications (December 15, 2015)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4 Hearts
Blurb: The day disgraced superhero Memphis Rook literally fell into Hogarth Dawson’s lap, you could say it was fate. But the brawny Rook did nearly crush Garth’s pancreas.

What started as two ships passing in the night ended on the weirdest adventure of their lives. Together, Rook and Garth form Checkmate, a daring super duo that keeps Axis City safe from a rogue’s gallery of nefarious villains, dastardly masterminds, and a coalition of calamity. Fighting evil wherever it appears—from reality shows to comic book conventions—Checkmate serves up knuckle sandwiches of justice.

But by day, they’re a couple of broke losers who can barely afford a burger and navigating a weird thing called a relationship. Ain’t true love grand? Rook and Garth may be in over their heads, and even super heroes fail sometimes, but they’re ready to take a stand when no one else will.

Don’t hate the players, because Checkmate owns the game.

1st Edition of Pawn Takes Rook published by Dreamspinner Press, 2013.
1st Edition of Cashing the Reality Check published by Dreamspinner Press, 2013.
1st Edition of Conventional Love published by Dreamspinner Press, 2014.

ISBN: 978-1-63476-462-9

Product Link:

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: This a great book about Hogarth and Rook as each story unfolds we get a closer look into both their lives. It is both serious and humorous at times. I loved how well-developed the characters were and how they seemed to fit together perfectly.

Of course along the way there are things that happen that make you think about the situations as they occur. In Pawn Takes Rook is where Rook and Hogarth meet after Rook is attacked and disgraced. In Cashing the Reality Check both are looking to enter the alliance but are refused.

Conventional Love takes us on a journey where a superhero turned villain decides to try his hand at world domination no matter the cost. What The Water Gave Me is a sad tale of a friend’s murder and the thoughts of what could have been done if only they had tried harder to communicate with Timmy. Hindsight is always 20/20.
Miracle in Axis City is a cute Christmas short with a lot of warm feelings and hot sex.
Each of these stories is great but when read together makes the book seem so much better.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through *