Reindeer Games by Jet Mykles

JM_ReindeerGames_coverlg_1Title: Reindeer Games
Series: Reindeer Games, #1
Author: Jet Mykles
Genre: Holidays/ Fantasy/Paranormal/ Shapeshifters
Length: Novella (86 pages)
Publisher: Loose Id (December 10th, 2010)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4Hearts
Blurb: Rom is Dasher, the leader of Santa’s shape-shifting team of reindeer. He is the quintessential elf — smart, handsome, charming — and everyone in Santa’s Village wants him. Lon is no exception. He’s hopelessly in love with Rom, but how can he hope to get Rom’s attention? Even if he is now one of the reindeer handlers, he’s still just a plain, ordinary elf, and painfully shy to boot.

Then there’s Wod. As Dancer, he’s both Rom’s second in command and Rom’s best friend. He, too, is devilishly handsome but in a darker and — truth be told — slightly frightening way. At least, he makes Lon’s heart race and his tongue ties in knots.

When Wod unexpectedly offers to help Lon gain Rom’s attention, Lon is completely confused. To make matters worse, Wod is clear that he’d love to play with Lon himself.

Lon is used to the sexual freedom in Santa’s Village but he craves something more meaningful. He wants a real relationship. So what does he do? Keep pining for Rom or play Wod’s special brand of reindeer games?

Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: male/male sexual practices.

ISBN: 978-1-60737-901-0

Product Link: http://www.loose-id.com/reindeer-games.html

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: A very Sweet story of thinking you love someone only to be proven wrong by love actually standing in front of you though you never noticed it before. Loved all the cute Christmas terms and street names used throughout.

Wod is actually Dancer, the second in command of the reindeer. He’s extremely sexy the way he’s described. I thought it was sweet that he offered to help Lon even though I suspected that he wanted him for himself. Lon is an elf who has longed to be with Rom, Dasher for a long time. But he wants more than a one-night stand.

The main thing that confused me was that Santa was actually a woman in this story who transformed herself into Santa Clause for the sleigh ride. Loved the descriptions of how the reindeer transformed. The intimate scenes between Wod and Lon were hot.

Great read.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through
http://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com*

Reindeer Games 3: Naughty and Nice by Jet Mykles

jm_rg3_naughtyandnice_1Title: Naughty and Nice
Series: Reindeer Games, #3
Author: Jet Mykles
Genre: Paranormal/Holiday
Length: Novella (107 pages)
Publisher: Loose Id (December 9th, 2014)
Heat Level: Moderate
Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥4Hearts
Blurb: Rom is Dasher. As Santa’s lead reindeer, he has everything he’s ever wanted. He is everything he’d ever wanted to be. His life is perfect, filled with good friends and any pretty, he wants.

Until Shaw appears in front of him. The drab little elf from Archives isn’t anything like Rom’s other partners. Oh, he’s cute, but he doesn’t know it. Even more amazing, he seems immune to Rom’s flirting. It’s almost as if he doesn’t want Rom. Wait, no. When Rom does proposition him, Shaw turns him down flat.

Amazing!

Even more amazing, Rom is hooked. He can’t get Shaw out of his mind. He even goes to the Library to pursue him. But Shaw — and Shaw’s mother — can’t figure out what Rom would want with him.

Well, Rom’s not entirely sure either but he knows he wants to find out. Can he convince Shaw?

ISBN: 978-1-62300-817-8

Product Link: http://www.loose-id.com/reindeer-games-3-naughty-and-nice.html

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: Rom seemed arrogant and conceited in this book to me. He assumes everyone wants him and he can have his pick of anyone he wants. He has different handlers each time so he can let everyone have a chance with him. It seemed, seeing as he’s the lead reindeer that he would handle himself better than he did.

Shaw is a sweet shy young man who keeps to himself. When Rom shows an interest in him, he doesn’t believe him and continuously turns him down. I really liked that Shaw didn’t act the way the others did and had Rom chasing him instead of the other way around.

Cute story with plenty of Christmas magic in it. Great read.

* I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through
http://mmgoodbookreviews.wordpress.com*

Noble by Jet Mykles

jm_ik4_noble_1Title: Noble

Series: Indigo Knights 4

Author: Jet Mykles

Genre: Contemporary/YAOI

Length: Novel (203 Pages)

Publisher: Loose Id (September 16th, 2014)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥3.5Hearts

Blurb: Donny “Foxy” Foxley is hot. Noble knows it. All those screaming teen girls know it. And so does the production company with their millions staked on the teen idol’s dreamy good looks.

So when the supposedly straight movie star comes onto him, Noble is floored. Never one to ignore the allure of a pretty young man, Noble can’t resist and doesn’t even try. Why should he? Even if it has to be a secret, he’d be crazy to pass up a night of sexy times with the one man everyone wants.

But one night turns into two, and then blossoms into a friendship with the potential for so much more. If that’s what Noble was after, which he’s not. But Foxy gets under Noble’s skin until he cares way too much. Because there can never be anything but sex between them. To the world, Foxy is straight and Noble is anything but.

ISBN # 9781623005160

Product Link: http://www.loose-id.com/indigo-knights-4-noble.html

Reviewer: GiGi

Review: For fans of YAOI and Jet Mykles in general, Noble fits the bill. We get another healthy sexy dose of glamorous rock stars and beautiful movie star men, and of course a coming out of the closet situation. Noble is right in line with the previous Indigo Knights books as well as fitting the mold of Heaven Sent, that’ what her readers want, and that’s how I critiqued this book.

Foxy and Noble are both glamorous, figures, each with their own sexual appeal. Foxy, the shy but gorgeous up and coming film star with heavenly locks and a buff bod, Noble the ideal rock star image, dyed purple/indigo Mohawk hair, lots of silver rings and piercings, and a bad boy tattoo of a horny toad, both collide to form a steamy hot love affair. The problem is Foxy is a closeted movie star caught up in a morality clause contract and Noble is as out and proud as it gets, with a wild boy sex fiend reputation.

The tension of this plot is how Noble can keep true to himself, have some self-respect, and allow his love for the closeted star to grow. Will Foxy tuck tail and hide away from himself and Noble, or will he let their love shine in the light of day no matter the consequences. I’m sure you can guess the ending, but Noble is still a fun, feel good YAOI novel in the spirit of Heaven Sent and the previous Indigo Knights series with out as much angst or drama.

Devon Cream by Jet Mykles

20660032Title: Devon Cream, 2nd edition

Author: Jet Mykles

Genre: Contemporary

Length: Novella (81 pages)

Publisher: MLR Press (January 30th, 2014)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥3.5 Hearts

Reviewer: Eli

Blurb: When Steven helps his neighbor Devon move into the studio apartment upstairs, he can’t help but drool. And that’s all. Devon is straight and totally off limits. Knowing, though, doesn’t stop the desire Steven fights every time the two men are together, which is a lot since Steven has decided to take Devon under his wing until the young man can get his life together. 

This story was part of the HOT COMFORT anthology previously published. 

Purchase Link: http://www.mlrbooks.com/ShowBook.php?book=JMDVNCRM

Review: There is nothing like a coming of age story, especially when it involves a man who has no clue that he could be attracted to another man.  Meet Steven who’s an older cook who befriends young, straight and down on his luck Devon.  The two become friends and Steven becomes besotted with young Devon even though he knows the man is straight. The lines of this friendship become blurred and that allows Devon to remove himself from his previously assigned box of identity and to explore new ones. 

Devon begins to care for Steven and takes a leaf out of Steven’s book when it comes to taking care of Steven when Steven is offered a once in a lifetime opportunity that throws his life into chaos. Readers will love Steven and Devon – Steven as the older gay man who doesn’t want to take advantage of his young padawan; and Devon with his dependence on Steven to help him adjust to his new life. They are both very different from each other, yet together they make sense and a very cute couple. The reader wants them to get together and when they do, there are smiles all around.

The reader will also enjoy seeing how the book got its title.  It’s is rife with double entendre. Nice little read.

I Can't Fight This Feeling Anymore by Jet Mykles

18463421Title: I Can’t Fight this Feeling Anymore

Series:   N/A

Author: Jet Mykles

Genre: Contemporary

Length:   Novel (203 pages)

Publisher: MLR press, September 27th, 2013

Heat Level: Explicit

Heart Rating: ♥♥♥♥♥5 Hearts

Reviewer:   Mandingo

Blurb: Can a party boy and a responsible businessman really make it work? Bryce is the adorable young thing that Dustin knows he shouldn’t want. He should be looking for a man his own age. Someone with a future. Someone with a real job. But no matter how hard he tries, no matter how much he knows that it just won’t work, he can’t resist those big blue eyes. Dusty is an adult. So unlike any of the party crowd that Bryce hangs around. But after just a brief taste of Dusty’s so-called boring, normal life, Bryce is more surprised than anyone to find out that that’s the life he wants. No wonder they just Can’t Fight This Feeling.

Purchase Link:   http://www.mlrbooks.com/ShowBook.php?book=JM_ICFTF

Review: Okay, so to read about the world I inhabit part-time (the world of older straight women who love and write for the m/m genre) gave me a chuckle.  I think readers will enjoy that aspect of the story since they are in large part the writers and demographic of this genre.

So with that said. I LOVED this book. Why? It rang true. It felt real like the men would really act this way.  In many books, we watch the arc of the protagonist or antagonist and we revel in the massive leaps they take to become better people. In real life, we make small incremental changes to become better versions of ourselves. This book demonstrates that well. It shows Bryce struggling at 22, when he suddenly realizes that there is more to life than he previously knew. Those of us who are older get that, since we’ve all been there. when we suddenly realize that dinner with friends or home with family can actually be more fulfilling that a night of drunken debauchery.  Dustin learns that sometimes life offers you a gift in an unexpected package and you need to accept the package and not ask too many questions.

Women fall in love and then revel in sex. Man have sex, which then leads to love.  This book clearly demonstrates that. Their sex is epic and will have readers both fanning and writhing in their seats – so hang on for that! But, the men both navigate their feelings, while engaging in torrid sex – very true to how men operate in their physical love lives. Often many m/m romances tend towards having the men behave with feminine tendencies with feelings of angst and things that most men are rarely burdened with.  This story however, does none of that which makes it very real and true to how a gay man would act. This is now the fourth book I’ve read by this author and I continue to be pleased with the results.

Dustin and Bryce…adorable. You root for them to be together and understand that what the universe puts together, is meant to be together. Bring on the popcorn and Merlot and let’s get to reading.