Truth Will Out by K.C. Wells

K.C. Wells - Truth Will Out Cover 48h4y4Title: Truth Will Out

Series: Merrychurch Mysteries 01

Author: K.C. Wells

Genre: Contemporary, Mystery

Length: Novel (192 pages)

ISBN: 978-1-64080-629-0

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (30 Oct 2018)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Jonathon de Mountford’s visit to Merrychurch village to stay with his uncle Dominic gets off to a bad start when Dominic fails to appear at the railway station. But when Jonathon finds him dead in his study, apparently as the result of a fall, everything changes. For one thing, Jonathon is the next in line to inherit the manor house. For another, he’s not so sure it was an accident, and with the help of Mike Tattersall, the owner of the village pub, Jonathon sets out to prove his theory—if he can concentrate long enough without getting distracted by the handsome Mike.

They discover an increasingly long list of people who had reason to want Dominic dead. And when events take an unexpected turn, the amateur sleuths are left bewildered. It doesn’t help that the police inspector brought in to solve the case is the last person Mike wants to see, especially when they are told to keep their noses out of police business.

In Jonathon’s case, that’s like a red rag to a bull….

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: Truth Will Out is the first book in the Merrychurch Mysteries by KC Wells. Wells is an author that I’ve read a number of books in the past and have found them on the whole enjoyable and well written. I’ve actually heard the audio of this book some months ago – I don’t remember when – but at the time I wasn’t aware that it was part of the series. I remembering really getting into the story and it was great to actually read it for myself.

Overall, this was a really cool story and I think was greatly enhanced by listening to the audio. I feel that this is a book that I’ve got more out of it by listening to the audio – and the fabulous performances that brought the characters to life – than I would have reading the book.

There is a definite “British Mystery” feel to it, as in that there’s a murder in the small village but surely “it was nothing but an accident, I’m sure”. I probably have watched too many of said British Mysteries on television, and I’m not ashamed to say that Hot Fuzz is one of my favourite comedy movies. And not to mention that I figured out the plot of the story, mostly because I was thinking, “this reminds of the Doctor Who episode The Unicorn and the Wasp”. Yeah, I’m a nerd and I barely had to think to remember the name of the episode, whatever.

The story starts with Jonathon de Mountford. He goes to visit his uncle, the present Lord de Mountford at the family’s country seat/property. He has a lot of guilt for not seeing his uncle, whom he had been so close to as a kid. But the years and his career as a famous photographer sent him on a whirlwind journey that he has loved. Of course, his father, who heads the family law firm, is disappointed in Jonathon not only because he’s gay but also because he didn’t go into law and sees photography as nothing but a hobby. So clearly the guy has baggage and his life is about to get a whole lot more complicated, first when he meets local bar owner Mike Tattersall, and then goes to find his uncle and ends up finding him dead in his study.

Mike Tattersall moved to the quiet village of Merrychurch in the English countryside after losing his foot ended his career as a police officer in London. Now he owns the village pub (and oh my god! This just makes me think of watching Heartbeat with my mum when I was home sick from school). He moved to be closer to his recently divorced sister and has made something of a life for himself, even if he is lonely. Mike isn’t in the closet, though he doesn’t advertise his sexuality. He was also very much out when he was a policeman, and got his own set of baggage from that as well as dealing with his sister.

Jonathon and Mike have an instant connection. Their chemistry has been written perfectly. The sparks start to fly instantly, but they have a lot of learning to do together before anything can get too serious. On top of that, Jonathon and Mike can’t resist getting involved in the local to mystery, trying to piece together all the clues to solve what happened to Jonathon’s uncle.

I recommend this to anyone that wants a light-hearted romance with a good dose of adventure and mystery. I’m really looking forward to reading the second book in this series really soon!

The Witch’s Blood by Michele Notaro

Michele Notaro - The Witch's Blood Cover hu8sjs7dTitle: The Witch’s Blood

Series: The Ellwood Chronicles 03

Author: Michele Notaro

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Witches & Wizards

Length: Novel (294)

Publisher: Michele Notaro (September 30, 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: I’ve been living with this burden for years, but my secret has finally been revealed and I feel like I can breathe again. I’ve wanted to ask—to beg—for help, but the spell that’s held me captive wouldn’t allow it. With it out in the open, I’m more determined than ever to break the seal from my chest so I can truly be free.

But what if my seal has something to do with one of the most feared prophecies of the millennium?

“A broken seal breaks the fragile hold…”

What does that mean? How am I connected? And why do I find myself so deeply drawn to Julius when I know my viramore, my soulmate, is out there somewhere? It’s not fair to either of us for me to lead Jules on, but it seems that my vampire companion is fierce in his determination to help me.

The Witch’s Blood is the third book in The Ellwood Chronicles and is a continuation of the overall story as we follow Emrys, Julius, Sebastian, and Ailin on their journey. It contains explicit material and is intended for mature adults 18 years of age and older.

ISBN: B07Y7Q145L

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: Both Emrys and Julius’ backgrounds about what happened to them before they met were heart wrenching and horrifying. Julius was fierce in his protection of Emrys, which I thought was sweet and endearing.

I loved everything about this story. Emrys journey has not been easy. I so wanted to hug both him and Julius and tell them it would be o.k. I enjoyed the banter throughout this story. But the highlights were the secrets that were revealed and the intense battles. They were my favorite.

All in all it was a fantastic addition to the series

Street Rat by Stormy Glenn

Stormy Glenn - Street Rat Cover ndrv7fhjTitle: Street Rat

Series: Hot Mess: Friends & Family 02

Author: Stormy Glenn 

Genre: Contemporary 

Publisher: Siren Publishing (November 28, 2019)

Length: Novella (134 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: Patty

I was the head of the Irish mob in Chicago. That got me very few friends and even more enemies. With the DEA breathing down my neck, figuring out who’s hijacking my shipments of merchandise is made all that much harder. It’s not until Danny was kidnapped that I learned I had more friends than I thought I did. I just didn’t know if we could rescue Danny before he became a victim to someone’s plot to get to me.

Danny

Patty Flannigan has been my hero since he rescued me from the streets when I was a teenager. Over the years, that hero worship turned into something stronger. I’ve watched a string of boy toys move through Patty’s life at an alarming rate and I didn’t want to become just another notch on his bedpost. I wanted something more meaningful but proving to Patty I could be an asset to him became harder than I was prepared for when I was kidnapped in a plot to get to Patty.

ISBN: 978-1-64637-051-1

Product Link: Siren-BookStrand

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each book in the Hot Mess: Friends & Family collection features a new romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc I would suggest reading them in sequential order. I would suggest you start with the Hot Mess collection as it will give you a idea on some of the characters you will meet in this series.

The fourth horseman of the apocalypse has finally appeared. Danny’s father passed away, his mother was a hard core drug addict and his foster family were evil. He ran away and was living on the streets at the age of fifteen. He had been rescued and brought in by a man he adored. The man was also the head of the Irish Mob.

Patty has seen some crazy things in his life although I would say Lany was the craziest. He was the head of the Irish Mob and had many rules to follow. He never dealt in drugs or girls. He wasn’t clean cut but it would be hard to prove anything. He rescued a young boy from the streets and pretty much protected him. Now here he was trying to keep him safe and falling in love.

I will admit that out of all the contemporary romance stories I have read, this series and the one it is connect to are probably my favorites. There is a serious tone to them but they have so much humor in them that parts of the story will have you laughing your ass off. They are told with such a flare that you are not wanting to put the story down. I loved the characters and everything about them. I was glad that Patty got his head out of his ass though.

I am so glad that Lany’s friends are meeting the ones they will love forever. I do hope that I will see more of them in the future stories. I can’t wait for Vinnie to get his happy ever after though.

I can guarantee that this is one of those stories that will be read many times over.

Letters to Aleksanta by Jessamyn Kingley

Jessamyn Kingley - D'Vaire 14 - Letters to Aleksanta Cover 43urijhTitle: Letters to Aleksanta

Series: D’Vaire 14.5

Author: Jessamyn Kingley

Genre: Fantasy. Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Length: Novella (112pgs)

Publisher: Jessamyn Kingley (December 5, 2019)

Heat Level: Nil

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: There are presents to wrap, cookies to decorate, and a tree to trim! The Draconis High Court of D’Vaire is about to have their largest holiday celebration, and as they prepare for their first-ever Secret Santa, much to Aleksander’s surprise, he’s given the role of Santa himself.

Tasked with this new responsibility, Aleksander is the recipient of multiple letters with suggestions for anonymous gift-givers while he puzzles over what to get the person whose name he plucked out of a hat crafted from his own dragonskin.

With plenty of festive spirit, the gang is ready for the big day and all its fanfare. However, an unexpected arrival takes the D’Vaires by surprise, serving as a beautiful reminder that the most important part of the season is their incredible family, including and especially their beloved Aleksanta.

ISBN: B08267TG2S

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: The holiday spirit is in full force with the D’Vaire clan as plans and decisions are set in motion to bring all cheer and joy for Christmas.

Alekander is voted Aleksanta and I enjoyed the heartfelt and warmth in the letters he received. There were hilarious moments as well that brought joy to my heart with all the bantering between the D’Vaire’ and their extended family.

A truly magnificent story of the true meaning of Christmas. I found myself immersed in so many wonderful feelings at the end of the story that I did not want it to end. So many got their Christmas wishes and one realized that he meant more to them than he thought.

Fantastic read and highly recommended.

Broken Halo by Lynn Hagen

Lynn Hagen - Broken Halo Cover 65rht7jTitle: Broken Halo

Series: Maple Grove 12

Author: Lynn Hagen

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand, Inc. (November 25, 2019)

Length: Novella (116 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Blurb: Dr. Ari Bjord uprooted his life, leaving behind a broken heart as he moved to Maple Grove to become the new town doctor. His work was fulfilling, but he missed having someone special in his life. Ari just never expected that special someone to be an actual angel with a chip on his shoulder and perpetual whiskey bottle in his hand. Ari definitely had his work cut out for him.

Tortured and punished for thousands of years, Gavril was nothing short of bitter and broken. He wouldn’t know love if it walked up and slugged him on the jaw. That was until a sweet little doctor risked his life to help Gavril. Now Ari was all Gavril thought about, all he craved. With overzealous angels out to kill him, Gavril knew it was time to stop running and fight. But his biggest fight of all was learning how to love the most important person in the world to him. His mate. 

ISBN: 978-1-64637-030-6

Product Link: Siren-BookStrand

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Each book in the Maple Grove collection features a new romantic couple. To enjoy the overall story arc I would suggest reading them in sequential order. This series is connected to the Brac Pack, the Brac Pack Next Gen, Brac Village, Zeus’s Pack, Christian’s Coven, Demon Warriors and a few others. For a better understanding of this amazing world I would suggest start with the first book in the Brac Pack collection.

Ari loved what he did and the help he could give. He loved traveling and enjoying his patients. Then he lost a bit when his ex turned out to be worse then evil. He left his life behind to start a new one in Maple Grove. He was still a damn good doctor but he had lost a bit of himself. Now here he was helping a very grumpy and drunk man who didn’t seem to want his help.

Gavril is an angel and has lost his way, so to speak. He loved the humans he looked over but many angels saw it as wrong. Angels are not the good that they stand for but can be worse then humans when it came to bigotry. They held him prisoner for thousands of year and tortured him every second of every day. His escape led him to the one man that might give him hope, his mate.

I liked these guys quite a bit. I was hoping that this author would throw in angels after awhile. So it was a nice surprise and I truly enjoyed their story. Like most of this authors work there is quite a bit of action and danger mixed in with a bit of humor to make it flow better. I always did like a story that had quite a bit of humor in it and this one had it. I enjoyed seeing some of the old gang back from previous stories.

I had a blast reading it and can guarantee that it is one of those stories that will be read many times over.

Mending Noel by Charlie Cochet (2nd Edition)

Charlie Cochet - Mending Noel Cover 634hr7Title: Mending Noel

Series: North Pole City Tales 01

Author: Charlie Cochet

Genre: Fantasy, Christmas

Length: Short (60pgs)

Publisher: Charlie Cochet (November 18, 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: All is not sparkly snowflakes and sweet candy canes in North Pole City. Office workers Tim and Noel do nothing all day but antagonize each other—petty fighting that might be based on hatred… or a heated mutual attraction. It’s up to Jack Frost and his elf-friend Rudy to broach the hostilities and introduce some Christmas kisses, but is the Frost Prince up to the challenge of launching a new romance when someone’s trying to break his holiday spirit?

ISBN: B081C7SQSV

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: Wonderful story about Tim and Noel who have problems at work only to overhear a plot against Frost and have Rudy save them.

I loved that Jack and Rudy decide that things need to change for the better and set about doing just that while at the same time helping Noel and Tim with their feelings for one another.

It was an entertaining read that had much more than I thought it would. Drama, action, and romance are all in abundance in this stunning story with a great cast of characters that I am looking forward to getting to know.

Fantastic read.

A Holiday Homecoming by Liv Rancourt

Liv Rancourt - A Holiday Homecoming Cover s trh6r4Title: A Holiday Homecoming

Series: 2019 Advent Calender: Homemade for the Holidays

Author: Liv Rancourt

Genre: Contemporary

Length: Novella (62 pages)

ISBN: 978-1-64405-779-7

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (1 Dec 2019)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Ten years ago Jon’s passion for the piano took him across the country to New York, where a demanding concert career consumed his life and left him no time to look back. His father’s stroke is the only thing that brings him home to Seattle. The sickroom makes for a dreary holiday until Jon runs into Bo, whose inner light can make anything sparkle.

Bo loves the holidays: the food, the crafts, the glitter! A fling with an old school friend—who grew up to be his celebrity crush—makes a good thing better. The season turns sour, though, when Jon is offered a gig he can’t refuse. He wants Bo to share the moment, but Bo doesn’t fly. Anywhere. Ever. Is this goodbye, or will a handmade ornament bring Jon home to Bo?

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: A Holiday Homecoming is a Christmas novella by Liv Rancourt for Dreamspinner Press’s 2019 Advent Calender, the theme of which for this year is “Homemade for the Holidays”.

I love a Christmas novella, or novel, of almost any kind. I love the stereotypically sugary sweet romances that always come out in November and December. They warm the heart and the love makes me happy. I’ve not heard of Liv Rancourt before, so after reading this I think I’d be interested in more their works.

This story is the romance between two men, who had been school friends until life took them apart before they were teenagers.

Jon, a classical concert pianist, has spent the last ten years in New York, first at Julliard and then building his career, until his father has a stroke and he goes back to his hometown to help his parents. Soon after he gets back in town, he encounters Bo, they had been friends when they had been thirteen, before Jon’s love of music had him home schooled so that Jon could take his interest in music further. Jon finds his newly resurfacing emotions confusing. With his feelings of guilt towards not being close to his parents adding to the confusion of his budding romance.

Bo has never left their hometown, but he is happy with his life as a teacher and has a passion for arts and crafts. Seeing Jon again sparks emotions that hadn’t had the chance to fully form into anything more when they had been kids.

This is a short and sweet Christmas romance that has everything that I expect, a real lighted-hearted and sweet romance.

This Christmas by J.R. Hart Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!

J.R. Hart - This Christmas RB Banner

Hi guys! We have J.R. Hart stopping by today with her new release This Christmas, we have a great excerpt and a fantastic $10 NineStar GC giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤️ ~Pixie~

J.R. Hart - This Christmas Cover nd7s9s

This Christmas

by

J.R. Hart

Alex Ross can’t catch a break when it comes to Christmastime. With a long history of bad holiday experiences—like getting rejected under the mistletoe or playing referee to his mother’s divorce—he’s just trying to survive it.

New in town and a stranger to everyone, he plans on ignoring the holiday altogether. That would be easier if his ridiculously cheerful new neighbor would cool it on the Christmas hype. Nicholas is annoying and loud. Worst of all, he’s also impossibly attractive and nice to everyone. It’s getting harder for Alex to deny his interest, especially when Nicholas leaves Christmas cookies at his door and wages a snowball fight against him on the coldest day of the year.

Can Alex open up to him and get into the holiday spirit before he endures another ruined Christmas?

.•.•.**❣️ NineStar | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “This Christmas by J.R. Hart Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!”

We Still Live by Sara Dobie Bauer Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Sara Dobie Bauer - We Still Live RB Banner

Hi guys! We have Sara Dobie Bauer popping in today with her new release We Still Live, we have a great excerpt and a brilliant $10 NineStar GC giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤️ ~Pixie~

Sara Dobie Bauer - We Still Live Cover xcn7shs

We Still Live

by

Sara Dobie Bauer

Running from a scandal that ruined his life, Isaac Twain accepts a teaching position at Hambden University where, three months prior, Professor John Conlon stopped a campus nightmare by stepping in front of an active shooter.

When John and Isaac become faculty advisors for the school’s literary magazine, their professional relationship evolves. Despite the strict code of conduct forbidding faculty fraternization, they delve into a secret affair—until Simon arrives.

Isaac’s violent ex threatens not only their careers, but also John’s life. His PTSD triggered, John must come to terms with that bloody day on College Green while Isaac must accept the heartbreak his secrets have wrought.

Warning: Scenes of graphic violence/gore, school shooting, past trauma, PTSD/post-traumatic stress, depression, anxiety, attempted suicide, mentions of past cheating

.•.•.**❣️ NineStar | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “We Still Live by Sara Dobie Bauer Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!”

Grimmer Intentions by Jodi Hutchins Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Jodi Hutchins - Grimmer Intentions RB Banner

Hi guys! We have Jodi Hutchins popping in today with their new lesbian release Grimmer Intentions, we have a great excerpt and a brilliant $10 NineStar GC giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤️ ~Pixie~

Jodi Hutchins - Grimmer Intentions Cover yf7ye8

Grimmer Intentions

(Tales from the Grim 02)
by

Jodi Hutchins

She screwed up. She broke protocol. She saved a life. Grim Reaper Margo Petrov may have resurrected a drowned surfer on the brink of death, but she isn’t earning any awards or receiving employee of the month from Corporate; she’s under more scrutiny from the Grim governing body than ever before. Since she has a massive secret that could spell disaster if revealed, she sure as hell doesn’t want to be in the spotlight, in any form.

Margo vows to keep her head down and stay out of trouble, reaping her quota of spirits lest she cause more problems for herself and the woman she saved with an illegal blood bond. She certainly shouldn’t be opening doors to the Fae lands or offering her neck to an Empusa woman suffering from bloodlust, but Margo’s laundry list of bad decisions keeps growing. With the threat of becoming decommissioned by Corporate looming in her periphery, Margo stumbles deeper into the politics of her people and soon realizes their intentions are far worse than she initially thought.

Warning: References to death and dying, including that of children, childhood trauma, grief, blood, abandonment, hate/racism toward a specific group of preternatural creatures, references to cancer

.•.•.**❣️ NineStar | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “Grimmer Intentions by Jodi Hutchins Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!”

Ablaze by Elvira Bell Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!

Elvira Bell - Ablaze Blitz Banner

Hi guys, we have Elvira Bell popping in today with her new release Ablaze. We have a great excerpt and a brilliant giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤️ ~Pixie~

Elvira Bell - Ablaze Cover dfnv7h

Ablaze

(Wavesongs 03)
by

Elvira Bell

The final book in the Wavesongs series!

Nick Andrews has returned to the Caribbean—but the world he remembers has changed for the worse. Despite the dangers, he needs to find a way to get to Corona. All he can think of is to reunite there with the love of his life.

Meanwhile, Tom is watching his every move. Tom, who has turned cold and demanding, and is desperate for Nick to love him.

One night things get out of hand, and something happens between them. Something unforgivable.

Content note: This book contains non-gratuitous depictions of torture, slavery, and sexual abuse.

Please note that the books in the Wavesongs series should be read in chronological order!

.•.•.**❣️ Amazon US | Amazon UK | B&N | Kobo ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “Ablaze by Elvira Bell Release Blast, Excerpt & Giveaway!”

A Broken Winter by Kale Night Blog Tour, Exclusive Excerpt & Giveaway!

Kale Night - A Broken Winter Tour Banner

Hi guys! We have Kale Night stopping by with the tour for her new release A Broken Winter, we have a great exclusive excerpt and a fantastic $10 NineStar GC giveaway so check out the post and enter the giveaway! ❤️ ~Pixie~

Kale Night - A Broken Winter Cover fu4837

A Broken Winter

(A Broken Winter 01)
by

Kale Night

General Auryn Tyrus is tired of serving an emperor who turns political dissidents into expensive steak and claims to have swallowed Ankari’s sun. He is fed up with pretending not to know Emperor Haken is buying biological weapons and collecting taxes for a war that doesn’t exist. Auryn’s role in the entire mirage leads him to drastic choices, but unexpected news halts his plans. Seven-year-old Keita Kaneko, the son of a former lover, is captured by the emperor’s special forces. Auryn secretly intervenes and spares Keita from execution.

Keita changes everything. Instead of feeling helpless and oppressed by a self-proclaimed living god, Auryn works to expose the emperor as a fraud. But he knows exactly what will happen if he’s discovered, and the extent of Emperor Haken’s lies is worse than anticipated. If Auryn expects anyone to believe the truth, he’s going to need proof. And a lot of help.

Warning: Suicide, extreme violence, abuse/torture (including that of children), mutilation, murder, gore, religious shaming, medical procedures, illness/death of child, illness/death of parent, kidnapping/abduction, past trauma

.•.•.**❣️ NineStar | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “A Broken Winter by Kale Night Blog Tour, Exclusive Excerpt & Giveaway!”

Shadows of the Past by Matt Doyle Blog Tour & Exclusive Excerpt!

Matt Doyle - Shadows of the Past BANNER1

Hi guys, we have Matt Doyle stopping by today with the tour for his new lesbian release Shadows of the Past, we have a great exclusive excerpt so check out the post and enjoy! ❤️ ~Pixie~

Matt Doyle - Shadows of the Past Cover e64jc

Shadows of the Past

(The Cassie Tam Files 04)
by

Matt Doyle

Shadows of the Past is the new novella collection set in The Cassie Tam Files universe! Enjoy two new stories that follow PI Cassie Tam and her girlfriend Lori Redwood as they deal with the fallout from LV48. This book is part of a series and needs to be read in sequence.

A Week in New Hopeland

When Lori Redwood agrees to help out her girlfriend, PI Cassie Tam, by going undercover at a local shipping firm, she gets more than she bargained for. Her ‘boss’ Mr. Graves is a misogynist and a bully, and has been targeting one girl in particular. Cassie is known to him, and he tends to be cautious around Tech Shifters. Which means that Lori may be the best person for the job.

Will Lori be able to help Cassie gather enough evidence for the police to act, or will she become the next target?

Shadows of the Past

PI Cassie Tam is not the only person who lives with regrets, and like most people, she just wants to get on with her life. But in New Hopeland, the past never remains buried. When she’s hired to track a stalker that’s been using some interesting tech to mask their identity on the city’s security cameras, Cassie ends up face-to-face with her darkest memory.

Can Cassie find out who’s responsible before her past mistakes tear her – and her friends – apart?

Warnings: Contains: bullying, stalking, a deceased family member, guns, and workplace harassment

.•.•.**❣️ NineStar | Amazon US | Amazon UK | Smashwords | B&N | Kobo ❣️**.•.•.

Continue reading “Shadows of the Past by Matt Doyle Blog Tour & Exclusive Excerpt!”

Speed Dating the Boss by Sue Brown

Sue Brown - Speed Dating The Boss Cover 4f4nnuTitle: Speed Dating the Boss

Series: Cowboys and Angels 01

Author: Sue Brown

Genre: Contemporary

Length: Novel (195 pages)

ISBN: 978-1-64080-649-8

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (26 June 2018)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: Will a mix of privilege and blue collar be a recipe for love… or disaster?

Dan’s pretty satisfied with his job at the working-class bar Cowboys and Angels. He enjoys his simple life, his apartment, and his cat, but he could do without the fights that break out in the bar, his boss’s meddling daughter, Ariel… oh, and a brutal, unrequited crush on his straight alpha boss, Gideon.

When Dan’s friend prepares to tie the knot, everyone insists that Dan needs a date for the wedding. Before he can protest, Ariel arranges a gay speed-dating event at the bar with Gideon as a participant. The unforeseen revelation that Gideon is bisexual raises Dan’s hopes, especially when Gideon announces that he wants to accompany Dan to the wedding. Could Gideon really be interested in Dan?

When Dan needs someone most, Gideon offers his unconditional support, and with genuine commitment, he shows Dan the kind of man he really is. Teaming up to save the wedding from a hungover groom and intolerant parents, can Gideon convince Dan they’re the best match since beer and pizza?

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: Speed Dating the Boss is the first book in Sue Brown’s series, Cowboys and Angels. I’ve become quite a fan of Brown’s writing, particularly after her Island Medics series and her contributions to Dreamspun Desires. I find the characters so relatable and easy to sympathise with, I also love the romance, which isn’t insta-love and is sometimes a slow burn.

To be honest when I see a series called Cowboys and Angels I am going to stop for a second look, no matter who the author is. I have a weakness for cowboy romances. However, this was not a cowboy romance and I was in no way disappointed about this fact. Instead this is a series that is based around the world of a city bar called Cowboys and Angels, which is owned by Gideon.

Gideon is introduced to the reader through Dan. Dan is the lead bar tender and has been working at Cowboys and Angels that he could run the place with his eyes closed and without his boss. Gideon is a widower with a college aged daughter, Ariel, who he has spoiled after the death of her mother years ago. Gideon is a man of many surprises. He may run a red neck bar, but he is a man of money and his hands in many pies.

Dan is invited to a wedding and needs to bring a date. Dan has devoted so much over the years of his time to the bar that he has no time for dating. He also nurses a crush on his seemingly straight boss. With not a lot of options and a hare-brained scheme concocted by Ariel, Dan allows his boss’ daughter to help him find a date.

The area where the bar is located is a little rough. So, having someone – and someones – out and proud isn’t something that happens really in Cowboys and Angels, but Dan and Gideon are not only realising their feelings for each other they are also changing their little world around them for the better.

This was a light-hearted read but the complexity of the characters is deep, which is what I enjoyed about the book so much. There was chemistry between Gideon and Dan from the start, they have very interesting and driven personalities that compliment each other more than they clash. While this isn’t a slow burn romance, the romance does come around slowly. Dan needs to sort his feelings out, as does Gideon, but they also need to get to know each other better, beyond a friendship between boss and employee.

The Enchanter’s Soul by Michele Notaro

Michele Notaro - The Enchanter's Soul Cover dsfgf78Title: The Enchanter’s Soul

Series: The Ellwood Chronicles 02

Author: Michele Notaro

Genre: Urban Fantasy, Witches & Wizards

Length: Novel (303pgs)

Publisher: Michele Notaro (April 15, 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Blurb: Many fall as the last enchanter rises…

The first line of the ancient prophecy keeps playing over and over in my head, but I’m afraid to remember the rest. I don’t want to think about what’s coming for us—what’s coming for him. I’ve been keeping Brinnswick safe for years; I’ve been keeping my coven safe my whole life; and now I was responsible for keeping Sebastian safe, too. It shouldn’t have been a problem, he was my vitmea viramore, after all, and I was used to having the weight of the world on my shoulders.

What Seb doesn’t know is that everyone in the magical community is after him—even if they don’t realize it yet. They’ve been looking for him for centuries; not only for him, but for his soul. But they never counted on him having me. I will protect him with my every breath and take down anyone that gets in our way. His soul belongs with me, not in the arms of evil.

The Enchanter’s Soul is the second book in The Ellwood Chronicles and is a continuation of Sebastian and Ailin’s story. It contains explicit material and is intended for mature adults 18 years of age and older.

ISBN: B07QGYLD5G

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: This story is told in different POV’s. Ailin and Seb get to know one another while at the same time Ailin is keeping secrets and Seb is refusing his magic. There is a great cast of characters that add a lot to the story.

I did feel there was a bit much with the declarations between Ailin and Seb. Believe me I got it the first time they said it. New family members arrive and Ailin makes peace with Emrys. I loved how family and friends embrace Seb to the point of him finally having the courage to accept what is destined for him.

A great read and addition to the series.

For a Unicorn’s Happiness by Catherine Lievens

Catherine Lievens - For A Unicorn's Happiness Cover gmg9glgTitle: For a Unicorn’s Happiness

Series: Legendary Shifters 02

Author: Catherine Lievens

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Publisher: eXtasy Books (September 20, 2019)

Length: Novella (161 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 3.5 Heart

Blurb: Toby has known little more than loneliness since he was taken from his home and his family was killed. He’s a prisoner, forced to heal the members of the gang that bought him from the men who kidnapped him.

Until he’s not.

Camden didn’t expect to find out that Sam’s brother, the brother who was sold to a gang, is his mate. He’s not sure where to go from here. Toby is understandably wary and cautious, and most of the time, he won’t let Camden close enough to talk to him. Camden doesn’t have a problem giving him the time and space he needs, but they might not have much of it.

When the envoy from another pack arrives and demands Camden give up one of the unicorn shifters, Camden refuses, even though he knows the Rosewood pack doesn’t stand a chance. The pack is small, and its members aren’t warriors. He’s not about to give Toby or Sam up, but he has no idea how his people are going to deal with this—or if they’ll make it out alive.

ISBN: 978-1-4874-2625-5

Product Link: eXtasy Books | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Toby and his brother are very rare shifters and very unique. When their parents were killed they were told to run, but only Toby managed it, so he thought. He had been taken and sold to gangs to be their healers. Hell he didn’t even know if he wanted to be one. Then another group showed up and rescued him.

Camden is an alpha of a small pack but Toby’s brother was one of them. So he did what any good alpha would do, he rescued the sexy man. Then he realizes that Toby is his mate. Things are going to get interesting real fast.

I like the unique shifters you see in this story. They are cute and funny in a way but also scared of what would happen. It is a cute story with a bit of action. Although it was only a bit of action which was a bit disappointing. It also ended in a bit of a cliffhanger which drove me nuts. It comes off rushed and leaves you hanging. It felt like it was going to slow and nothing major happened. I mean you have a threat, worry to death, rush a wedding and then all of a sudden it was done. No true fight was seen in the story.

I hate to admit it but I was a bit disappointed in the story. It just left me wanting more.

Saints and Sinners by Jude Marquez

Jude Marquez - Saints and Sinners Cover nhj77fuTitle: Saints and Sinners

Series: The Desecrated Pack 01

Author: Jude Marquez

Genre: Interracial, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Length: Novel (268pgs)

Publisher: Jude Marquez (June 16, 2019)

Heat Level: Low – Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖💖 5 Hearts

Blurb: The strangest things happen in the sleepy town of Glenwood Lock…

But if you’re lucky, you’ll make it out alive.

The Ortega family comes from a long line of werewolves and magic. They are a powerful family, one that puts the lives of the innocent above themselves at all costs. Alpha Celia and her brothers, Eli and Artie, thought they had seen it all. Their entire world is turned upside down when two college guys decide to walk home during a full moon and now, their small pack is transformed into something they never expected.

Lou Correa and Dante Navarro have been best friends as far back as they can remember. One walk home during a full moon threatens to change that. In a single instance, they are thrown into a world that is chaotic, unfamiliar, and terrifying. With trained hunters coming after them for powers they don’t understand, will they learn to survive? Can an unexpected romance help them or will it be yet another obstacle to overcome?

Honestly, will they even see the end of the week?

The Desecrated Pack: Saints and Sinners is the beginning of a new series, with a sweet MM romance, feisty characters, and a world filled with unexpected challenges.

ISBN: B07T44DW6X

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: I loved this story about Dante, Lou, Eli, Artie, Celia and so many other characters. We get a first hand account into many of their thoughts and feelings as circumstances out of their control throw them all together in a bind to protect each other from a group of humans who are hell bent on making sure they don’t become too powerful.

The Ascendancy is a ruthless group in that they kill without discrimination. Is does not matter who the intended victim is they take them out to prevent paranormal groups from becoming too powerful. I was shocked by this as I did not understand why paranormals would allow humans to do this. Nevertheless it made for a powerful, emotional story that reveals secrets, a prophecy and making a stand against the injustice in the world placed on them by humans.

Fantastic beginning to a series.

Walk Tall by Susi Hawke

Susi Hawke - Walk Tall Cover gnjk8ks1Title: Walk Tall

Series: Assassin’s Claw 01

Author: Susi Hawke

Genre: Paranormal

Publisher: Susi Hawke (August 10,2019)

Length: Novella (134 Pages)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖 3 Heart

Blurb: Clay Moreno is a paid killer, just like his four brothers. It’s the family business—they fight together, they die together. Whether they’re working as a group or alone, they are a tight unit who protect their own.

Clay drew the short straw on their latest mission: assassinate the American president. He knew the case was going to be tough, but the last thing he expected to find was his mate… the president’s own son. The fact that he began the case with plans to seduce his way into the White House via that same son is beside the point. What his mate doesn’t know shouldn’t hurt him…

Nick Jackson is lonely and ordinary in a family of overachievers. He doesn’t want to do photo ops for the press, prep for the next year’s tests over the summer or any of the hundreds of other things his mother hassles him about. All he wants is to relax after his first year of college, work on his tan… and maybe find a boy to flirt with.

ISBN: B07W1BMXS6

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Lisa

Review: Someone is about to tell the world about shifters. It is up to Clay to make sure that doesn’t happen. Even if it means he is going to have to kill the President of the United States. Now only he had to figure out a way to do it.

Nick is the son of the president and hates being in the spot light. He only wants a man to love, a family and the white picket fence. When he meets Clay things are looking up. Then he finds out that Clay is trying to kill his father. Clay is a shifter and Nick is his mate so it is going to get even more interesting.

The thing about these stories is that they are not really as short as the author states they are. So in reality there was no reason the ending couldn’t have included the surprise. It drives me nuts and actually does the exact opposite of what an author intends. Which is to look forward to the next story. I tend to stay away from stories that leave a cliff hanger.

Now for the main issue, no one in a world would send a text detailing all of the plan. It came off as if the story needed to be rushed. There was a reason to let Nick know the truth but no handler or assassin would be stupid enough to leave that type of evidence floating around.

The story started off quite interesting and had it not been for the text, might have been a higher rating for me. Things moved way too fast to make it believable as well. It went straight to sex, then more sex, then meeting the family and no true focus on what was suppose to happen till bam the assassination. Also assassinating bunnies in bunny form is a bit goofy and dropped the story as well.

Overall the story might have had a good chance to stand out, but some of the actions written in made the story burn. I can’t say that I will be looking for the next story and can honestly say that it is one that will be read only once.

Edge of Desperation by Nat Kenndy

Nat Kennedy - Edge of Desperation Cover dsf7fh3Title: Edge of Desperation

Series: Wielder World 01

Author: Nat Kennedy

Genre: Fantasy, Urban Fantasy

Length: Novella (105pgs)

Publisher: Lagomorph Press (May 25, 2016)

Heat Level: Low

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 4 Hearts

Blurb: Assistant Professor Reggie Wolfe has simple goals: to help his engineering students succeed and to stop male Wielders from falling into Taint without drawing attention from the Bureau of Wielder Services. A select few can Wield the Nerve of the World. Women Wielders do so freely, without any repercussions. For men, it’s another story. They fight Taint and Corruption for the same power.

Reggie’s easy life upends when Kyle, a young male Wielder, lands at his feet, trapped in his Taint and pursued by the very criminal Wielder cults the Bureau is fighting. As the two work to control Kyle’s Taint, Reggie realizes he will do everything he can to help Kyle, even follow him into darkness.

Edge of Desperation is the exciting opening novella to the Wielder World series—gay urban fantasy full of magic, suspense, and dedication born of trial and blood.

ISBN: B01EPAC5GM

Product Link: Amazon US | Amazon UK

Reviewer: Shorty

Review: In a society where men with wielder status suffer for their abilities by getting taint or corruption it’s best for them to remain hidden. Reggie is a wielder with a unique gift. He is able to untangle the nerve that causes it but not without causing his own corruption. Kyle is a young man trying to be recruited by a cult for male wielders. Reggie takes Kyle under his wing and tries to help him.

When Kyle calls with information about the clubs hideout Reggie gets in over his head when attempts to rescue Kyle. I liked this story about wielders and them having powers. They were different in nature depending on the wielder. I thought it intriguing as to why women were thought to control or handle theirs better as I saw instances where that was not the case. I did not care for the male wielders being on a list or disappearing for the slightest infraction.

All in all it was a fascinating read.

The Dragon CEO’s Assistant by Jenn Burke

Jenn Burke - The Dragon CEO's Assistant Cover s ijer8fTitle: The Dragon CEO’s Assistant

Series: Golden Kingdom Book 02

Author: Jenn Burke

Genre: Paranormal, Shape shifters

Length: Novel (211 pages)

ISBN: 978-1-64405-517-5

Publisher: Dreamspinner Press (29 Oct 2019)

Heat Level: Moderate

Heart Rating: 💖💖💖💖 3.5 Hearts

Reviewer: Prime

Blurb: The heart remembers.

When Aidan Bishop staggers out of the woods, naked and suffering from amnesia, he needs to relearn who he is and where he fits in the world.

His boss, nearly five-hundred-year-old dragon Nassim, head of a successful tech company, hurries to claim his wayward assistant and guide him back into the life he disappeared from. As they get to know each other again, Aidan wonders if their relationship went deeper than employer and employee. But Nassim isn’t telling, and Aidan has a secret of his own… even if he doesn’t know it yet.

Purchase Link: Dreamspinner | Amazon US | Amazon UK

Review: The Dragon CEO’s Assistant is the second book in Jenn Burke’s Golden Kingdom series. This does work as a standalone book, there is a brief appearance of the couple featured in the first book, but this appearance does not require any knowledge of what had happened to that particular couple.

I was looking forward to this book because I remember being surprised as just how good and how much I enjoyed the first book. And while I did enjoy this book, the plot line is something of a stereotypical plot from amnesia, a possible office romance, and a distinct lack of communication between the MCs. This is both good and bad. If this ticks all your boxes and have enjoyed similar romances – as I have with various MF romances – then this will be enjoyable, especially if you’re love your MM romances with paranormal themes and shapeshifters.

I’m not going to go too deep into my descriptions. The blurb basically tells you everything you need to know – as a blurb does, but there really isn’t anything too surprising that pops up in the course of the book. I feel that if I do I will spoil things too much.

The story starts when Aidan Bishop emerges out of the woods, after being missing for a short period of time, with amnesia. Not only does he not remember how he got to be found staggering around in a dark, creepy wood, he has no idea of a great many things in his life. As a result, his boss, a five hundred year old dragon shifter, Nassim, endeavours to help Aidan relearn his job and reacquaint himself with the people he had day to day contact with. This is, of course, a confusing time for Aidan, but he is further confused by the ease he feels with Nassim and the just how well they get along, as well as the tingly feeling Nassim leaves him with.

Because Aidan is a stranger to himself, this type of story really does lend itself to some really good character development and depth in the relationship between Aidan and Nassim. There is a certain level of care and attention towards Aidan that shows that he is important in more ways than one. Overall, this was a fun and relaxing book. The romance was sweet, and felt relatable. Perhaps I think this would be an enjoyable read if you need a book to come down after getting through a rather intense story.